
  

Amendments and Corrections to Vital Records 

Naming a child when the child has not been 
named on the birth certificate: 

  
 

When a child (registrant) is not named at birth the birth certificate is filed with the Office of 
Vital Records with only a last name. The birth certificate may also list the registrant's name 
as "baby girl/boy" + surname or "not named" + surname. Arizona Revised Statute §36-323 
and Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-118 allow you to name the registrant at a later 
date but the process varies depending on how long you wait.  

Arizona Revised Statute §36-323 and Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-116 restrict the 
list of people who may request the addition of a name to a registrant's birth certificate to 
the registrant if the registrant is under 18 years old, or a parent, guardian of the 
registrant. 

No fee shall be charged for adding only the child's name if done within one year from the 
date of birth. After one year a fee will be charged. 

Naming a not-named child within the 90 days following birth: 

When a child has not been named on the birth certificate at the time it is filed with the 
registrar, the name may be added within 90 days. To do so, both parents (or one parent if 
only one parent is listed on the birth certificate) must submit a written, notarized request 
to the Office of Vital Registration. You may come to the Office of Vital Registration in 
person or file your request by mail. 

Walk-in customers are served in the order they arrive between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., 
Monday through Friday. Customers who arrive after 4:00 p.m. can receive information 
only. 

Naming a not-named child after the 90 days following birth: 

After 90 days the request shall be by an affidavit signed by both parents (or one parent if 
only one parent is listed on the birth certificate) and supported by one independent factual 
document showing the requested name. 

The independent factual document corroborating the registrant's name must have been 
created within the first six months following the registrant's birth. Examples of what may 
be accepted include: the registrant's baptismal record, blessing certificate, immunization 
record, hospital record, medical record, etc. The document must show the registrant's 
complete and full name, and date the document was created. You may come to the Office 
of Vital Registration in person or file your request by mail. 

Walk-in customers are served in the order they arrive between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., 
Monday through Friday. Customers who arrive after 4:00 p.m. can receive information 
only. 

Naming a not-named child after six years following birth: 

After six years, a court order shall be required to add a name to the certificate. You will 
be asked to provide a certified copy of the court order with your application. You may 
come to the Office of Vital Registration or file your request by mail. 

Please Note: All court orders that were granted and final after Aug. 25, 2004 must 
contain verbiage stating – “It is ordered that the Office of Vital Records amend the birth 
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certificate of the following change(s)”. §R36-337.4 

Walk-in customers are served in the order they arrive between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., 
Monday through Friday. Customers who arrive after 4:00 p.m. can receive information 
only.  
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