Who is Eligible to Receive Certified Copy
Of An AZ Death Record
(A.C.C. R-9-19-314)

Arizona is a "closed record" state. This means that
vital records are not public record. Arizona law
identifies those who are eligible to receive a
certified copy of an Arizona death record:

Who is Eligible to Apply in Arizona:

1. A funeral director representing one of the
following in a final disposition of the deceased
individual’s human remains, within 12 months
after the registration of the deceased
individual’s death:

a. The deceased individual through a
prearranged funeral agreement, as
defined in A.R.S. § 32-1301;

b. The deceased individual’s spouse;

c. The deceased individual’s parent,
grandparent, or adult child,
grandchild, brother, or sister; or

d. Another person who is responsible for
the final disposition of the deceased
individual’s human remains according
to A.R.S. § 36-831

2. The surviving spouse of the deceased
individual

3. A parent or grandparent of the deceased
individual

4. An adult child, grandchild, brother, or sister
of the deceased individual
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. A person designated in a power of attorney,
established by the deceased individual’s parent
according to A.R.S. § 14-5104 or 14-5107
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6. Another person who is responsible for the final
disposition of the deceased individual’s human
remains according to A.R.S. § 36-831

7. A person named in the deceased individual’s
last will and testament as the executor of the
deceased individual’s estate

8. A person named in the deceased individual’s
last will and testament as a beneficiary of the
deceased individual’s estate

9. A person named as a beneficiary of a life
insurance policy on the deceased individual

10. A person designated in a court order to
receive a certified copy of the deceased
individual’s certificate of death registration

11. A person authorized in writing to receive a
certified copy of the deceased individual’s
certificate of death registration by a person
who is eligible to receive a certified copy of
the deceased individual’s certificate of death
registration according to (2), (3), (4), or (5)

12. Aninsurance company with which the
deceased individual had a policy

13. A bank, a credit union, a mortgage lender, or
another financial institution with which the
deceased individual had an account or other
business relationship

14. A hospital or other health care institution
processing a claim against the deceased
individual’s estate

15. Another person having a claim against the
deceased individual’s estate

16. An attorney representing a person who
is eligible to receive a certified copy of
the deceased individual’s certificate of
death registration

17. The consulate of a foreign government
representing a person who:

a. lIseligible to receive a certified copy of
the deceased individual’s certificate of
death registration according to (2), (3),
(4), or (5);

b. Is a citizen of the foreign country; and

c. Resides in the foreign country

18. A governmental agency processing:

a. A financial claim, a governmental
benefit application, or

b. Another form of compensation on
behalf of the deceased individual or

c. The deceased individual’s estate or

d. Having another official purpose for a
certified copy of the deceased
individual’s certificate of death
registration

Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain
a certified copy of a birth certificate.

Presenting documentation and forms of ID
in languages other than English:

Note: An applicant presenting documents from a
foreign country as proof of relationship or proof of
eligibility must provide certified copies of the
documents. Photocopies are not acceptable. The
applicant must also provide a certified translation
of the documents.



Apply In Person

We offer same day service for eligible applicants
requesting certified copies from all 5 of our locations.

At our office, please be prepared to:

1. Complete and sign an application

2. Provide your current and valid government
issued photo ID with your signature or have
your application notarized

3. Provide any additional factual documentation
to prove relationship or eligibility as required

4. Appropriate fee

5. Be certain you signed your application,
provided a reliable phone number

Note: We will not be able to provide same day service
for ineligible applicants or for applicants who do not
have valid, signed, government issued photo ID

The average processing time for applications submitted

through the mail is five business days from the date
received by MCOVR

Apply by Mail

Download applications and forms at
www.MaricopaVitalRecords.com

The instructions for completing an application by mail
are the same as above under Apply in Person.

Expedited Service

VitalChek, Inc. is an independent company the state has
partnered with to provide online ordering. Additional
fees apply much like a UPS or FedEx service.

The same rules and requirements concerning eligibility
and possible required documents and fees apply when
making a request.

VitalChek, Inc. accepts major credit cards including
American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard®, or Visa®.

Fees:

Certified Copy - $20.00

Correction\Amendment - $30.00*

*Includes 1 Certified Copy

Accepted Forms of Payment:

Money Order
Cashier’s Check
** American Express
**Discover
**MasterCard

**Visa

**Credit card holder’s valid government
issued, signed photo ID is required

Mailing Address

Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration
PO Box 2111
Phoenix, AZ 85001

2016 Update

The State of Arizona recently revised the
rules that govern how vital records are
managed.

Please take a few moments to read carefully.

Information has been revised.

Maricopa County
Public Health

Office of Vital Registration

How to Apply
Certified Copy - Arizona Death Certificate

www.MaricopaVitalRecords.com

4 Locations VALLEYWIDE

** Same Day Service!
** Printable Forms!

Central Valle
3221 N. 16 St. Ste. 100

Phoenix, AZ 85016

East Valley
331 E. Coury Ave.,

Mesa, AZ 85210

West Valley
1850 N. 95" Ave. Ste. 182

Phoenix, AZ 85037

Northwest
8088 W. Whitney Dr., 2" Floor
Peoria, AZ 85345

Hours: 8:00am - 4:30pm
Phone: 602-506-6805


http://www.maricopavitalrecords.com/
http://www.maricopavitalrecords.com/

