Maricopa County Maricopa County | Site Map | Search | Phone Directory | Departments | Services
Board of Health

The BOH consists of 11 members appointed by and responsible to the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors for staggered four year terms. Five are appointed by district, one is a supervisor, one is a physician and four are at-large. The Arizona Revised Statues provide for this in Title 36.

The BOH elects a president, vice-president of finance and a Physician Representative. The role of the Director of the health department is to participate and work with the Board but is not considered a member. The director serves as the secretary of the board as a non-voting member. The president is also a member of the finance committee. The executive committee consists of President of Board of Health, Vice-President-Finance, two At-Large members of which one is a physician. The President also may, with the approval of the Board, appoint special committees.

Current BOH members
Andrew Kunasek
Supervisor Representative

Scott Somers, MD
Term Expires: 12/31/2016
District 2
Don Cassano
Term Expires: 12/31/2021
District 1
Bob England, MD
Director of Public Health

Robert D. MacMillan
Term Expires: 12/31/2016
President, District 3
Term Expires:
District 4
Francisca Montoya
Term Expires: 12/31/2020
District 5
Nedra Halley
Term Expires: 12/31/2020
Member At-Large
Kip D. Steill
Term Expires: 12/31/2020
Don Hughes
Term Expires: 12/31/2020
Vice President
Debra Balduff
Term Expires: 12/31/2016
Member At-Large
Michael R. Mills, MD
Term Expires: 12/31/2020
Physician Representative

The Board of Health represents both Air Quality and Environmental Services on Regulatory decisions.

Maricopa County Regulations
Phone: 602.506.4695 | Fax: 602.506.6179
Maricopa County || 301 W. Jefferson St. || Phoenix, AZ 85003 || 602-506-3011
Maricopa Home      Site Map      Legal Information      Privacy/Security Policies
© Maricopa County