Maricopa County Maricopa County | Site Map | Search | Phone Directory | Departments | Services
Search Public Health
Skip Navigation Links
corner image corner image
Maricopa County Public Health logo
A to Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration

Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth

 

In 2001 the Arizona Legislature established a new certificate entitled "Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth." This new certificate became available from the Office of Vital Records beginning August 9, 2001.

 

You may obtain a certified copy of a certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth 30 to 45 days from the date of the event from the Office of Vital Registration. Certified copies of these records cost $20.00 each and can be requested in person or by mail at P.O. Box 2111, Phoenix, Arizona 85001.

 

Who may order and obtain a certified copy of a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth?

 

Please note: Arizona is a "closed record" state. That means that vital records are not public record. Arizona law restricts the public's access to vital records as follows:

 

Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate. In addition, to protect the confidentiality rights of our citizens, Arizona law specifies that only the following may receive a certified copy of a certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth. In addition to meeting the age and eligibility requirements you must also provide proof of your relationship to the registrant or your legal interest and a valid government issued picture I.D. in order to obtain a certified copy.

 

  • The parent or parents of the stillborn child (registrant).

  • The registrant's grandparent. (You must provide proof of your relationship such as the birth certificate of the registrant's parent).

  • An adult brother or sister of the registrant. (You must provide proof of your relationship such as a certified copy of your birth certificate).

  • An attorney representing the registrant's parents in matters involving the registrant or the registrant's parents. (You must provide documentary evidence of your status of legal interest).

  • Any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on the registrant's behalf.

  • A federal, state or local governmental agency, which requires the copy for official purposes.

  • A governmental agency acting on behalf of the registrant to process a financial claim, benefit, award or other compensation or to transact official business involving the registrant or the registrant's affairs.

  • A family member, or relative of the registrant engaged in research for genealogical purposes that provide proof of relationship to the registrant.

 

An incomplete application will delay the processing of your request. A complete application, whether applying in person or by mail must have all of the following information:

 

  • The name of the stillborn if named.

  • The date of birth resulting in stillbirth.

  • The place of birth resulting in stillbirth (hospital or residence and city or town and county).

  • The name of the hospital or facility.

  • The maiden name of the mother.

  • The full name of the father.

  • The number of certified copies being requested.

  • A complete mailing address where you want us to mail the certified copies.

  • A daytime telephone number where we can reach you if there is a problem.

  • Your signature. Please note: you may notarize the application if applying by mail rather than submitting a copy of your ID.

 

Applying in Person

 

When applying in person you will need to complete an application, available in the lobby, with the information listed above.

 

You will also need to have valid government issued photo identification and pay the applicable fees at the time of application. Certified copies of these records cost $20.00 each. We accept cash, money orders or credit/debit cards.

 

Applying by mail

 

When applying by mail, you will need to complete an application with the information listed above. You may provide this in the form of a letter or complete an application. An incomplete application will delay the processing of your request.

 

You will also need to send a clear photocopy of your valid government issued photo identification and enclose the applicable fees. Certified copies of these records cost $20.00 each.

 

When applying by mail, we accept cashiers' checks and money orders in the exact amount only and made payable to Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration. You may also pay with Visa or MasterCard credit card. If paying by Visa or MasterCard, the applicant must include a clear photocopy of the card signer’s photo ID. Please do not send cash.

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch videos on YouTube Subscribe to our e-mail updates here

 

Four Locations:

 

Opening Dec. 1, 2014 West Valley
1850 N. 95th Ave.
Suite 182
Phoenix, AZ 85037
Click for Directions


Central Phoenix
3221 N 16th St
Phoenix AZ 85016
Click for Directions


East Mesa
4419 E Main St
Mesa AZ 85205
Click for Directions


West Phoenix
3003 W Thomas Rd
Phoenix AZ 85017
Click for Directions

 

Contact and Hours:

Ph: 602-506-6805
Hrs: 8:00am-4:30pm

Please arrive by 4:00pm

 

Fees:

$20.00-Certified Copy
$30.00-Corrections
$  5.00-Non certified copy for Gov’t Agency use only

 

Forms of Payment:
• Visa or MasterCard
• Money Order
• Cashier’s Check
• Cash
(in person ONLY)

 

How to Apply:
• In person
• By Mail
• Online (fees apply)