
 
 
How to Apply for an Arizona 
Fetal Death Certificate 
 
 
Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration Only 
has Fetal Death Certificates for fetal deaths and  
Certificates of  Birth Resulting in Stillbirth that 
occurred in Maricopa County.  If you need a certified 
copy of a Fetal Death Certificate or Certificate of 
Birth Resulting in Stillbirth that occurred in another 
county, you must contact the county in which the 
event occurred or the state vital records office.  
 

 
Eligibility & Requirements 
 

Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a 
certified copy of a Fetal Death Certificate or 
Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.  Parents of 
record are excluded from the age requirement. In 
addition, only the parents of a fetus or another person 
authorized by one of the parents may obtain a 
certified copy of a fetal death certificate. 
 
If you are not the parents of the fetus, you must 
provide written authorization from one or both of the 
parents and a valid government issued picture I.D. in 
order to obtain a certified copy of the fetal death 
certificate.  
 

How to apply 
 

1) The fee for a certified copy of a fetal death 
certificate or a certificate of birth resulting in 
stillbirth that occurred within the last 30 days 
in Maricopa County the fee is $10.00 per 
certified copy. 

 
2) In Person – The Office of Vital Registration 

is located at 3221 N 16th St., Ste 100, 
Phoenix, Arizona. The hours of operation are 
from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm Monday - Friday. 
You must bring with you a valid government 
issued picture identification, which includes 
your signature, such as a driver’s license. If 
you are not the parent, you must bring 
written authorization from one or both of the 
parents. 

 
 

3) By Mail – Mail your request with your 
notarized signature or include a copy of your 
valid government issued picture 
identification, with includes your signature 
and payment in the amount $ 10.00 per copy. 
If you are not the parents, you must include 
written authorization from one or both of the 
parents. 

 
 
A complete application, whether applying in person 
or by mail must contain all the following information: 

   
The name of the stillborn if named 
The date of birth resulting in stillbirth 
The place of birth resulting in stillbirth 

 (Hospital or residence & city or town  
& county)                                                                                                                                            

The name of the hospital or facility 
The maiden name of the mother 
The full name of the father 
The number of certified copies being requested 
A complete mailing address indicating where the 
certified copies should be mailed.  
A daytime telephone number where we can reach you 
if there is a problem.  
Your signature (Notarized when applying by mail) 
 
When is a Fetal Death Certificate or 
Certificate Resulting in Stillbirth filed? 
 
A Fetal Death Certificate is filed whenever a fetus 
dies before birth and the fetus is more than 20 weeks 
in gestational age or if the fetus weighs more than 350 
grams.  A Fetal Death Certificate may also be filed , if 
the fetus is less than 350 grams and the parents 
request it.  However the attendant is not obligated to 
certify the certificate if under 20 weeks in gestational 
age or less that 350 grams. 
 
In 2001, the Arizona State Legislature established a 
new certificate entitled  
 
“Certificate of Birth Resulting in  Stillbirth”.   
 
A Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth may only 
be filed if over 20 weeks in gestational age. 
 

 
                                                                                           

ALL DOCUMENTS PROVIDED MUST 
BE ORIGINALS 
 
 

FETAL/STILLBIRTH CERTIFICATE FEE 
$10.00 

CORRECTION FEE 
$23.00 

 
 VALID GOVERNMENT ISSUED PICTURE I.D. 

IS REQUIRED WITH ALL REQUESTS 
 

SEND MAIL REQUESTS TO: 
OFFICE OF VITAL REGISTRATION 

PO BOX 2111 
PHOENIX, AZ 85001



 

 
 
 

 
 

MARICOPA COUNTY 
OFFICE OF VITAL REGISTRATION 

3221 N. 16th ST., #100 
PHOENIX, AZ 85016 

 
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM 
TEL (602) 506-6805 
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