Home > Dog Licenses > Licensing Requirements
The law in Arizona requires that all dogs three months of age and older must be vaccinated against rabies and licensed. Maricopa County Animal Care & Control (MCACC) is the licensing agent for unincorporated areas in Maricopa County and all other municipalities within Maricopa County with the exception of Fountain Hills
and Native American reservations. If you are unsure if your municipality is within the boundaries of Maricopa County, please click here
. Failure to license a dog is a class 2 misdemeanor (Arizona Revised Statute § 11-1008).
Dog owners must complete a license application within 15 days of vaccination. Residents new to Maricopa County and new dog owners must purchase a license within 30 days. A penalty will be assessed to owners who do not apply within the required timeline.
The term of the license is based on the month and day of the most current rabies vaccination recorded at MCACC. Licenses are valid for no more than one calendar year.