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2007 Legislative Summary
By Dana Hlavac, Mohave County Public Defender and Allen 
Elzerman, Mohave County Deputy Public Defender

Significant legislation was passed by the Arizona Legislature and signed 
by the governor during this past session.  Due to space limitations this 
article will focus on those pieces of legislation which are most likely to 
have the broadest impact on the widest audience.  Other significant 
changes are described and may be no less important, but may have an 
impact on a more limited audience.  Additionally, some of the more minor 
changes have not been detailed at the discretion of the authors.  For 
the full details of each piece of legislation, please refer to the underlying 
legislation found at the website for the Arizona Legislature.  This material 
should not be viewed as legal advice, or the definitive authority on any 
piece of legislation.  Each reader is encouraged to review the language of 
each bill of interest and consult with other members of their organization 
to determine the impact of each change on the operations of the office and 
individual client cases.

DUI

One of the most talked about and 
publicized laws that was enacted 
mandates that for every DUI conviction, 
a person must have an ignition interlock 
device installed on their vehicle.  The 
device must be on any vehicle the person 
is driving for a twelve month period.  This 
time frame begins either when the Motor 
Vehicle Department receives notice of 
the conviction or whenever the license 
is reinstated – whichever is later!  If the 
person’s BAC reading is .20 or greater, 
the interlock device must be installed for a period of 18 months – or 
longer at the judge’s discretion.  If this would be the person’s second DUI 
conviction in seven years, the device must be installed for a period of no 
less than 24 months.1

Also enacted were laws which created a “super extreme” DUI category 
for people whose BAC is .20 or greater.  If a person has a BAC of .20 or 
greater, they must serve a minimum of 45 consecutive days in jail.  If 
it is their second DUI conviction in seven years, it is a mandatory 180 
days in jail, and 90 days must be consecutive.  Caution should be used 
in advising clients about the impact of bonding out when they have been 
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in custody less than the required number of consecutive days prior to any sentencing on their case.  
It can be anticipated that a client who posts bond after being held for 40 days, and is subsequently 
found guilty, or enters a plea, may be required to serve an additional 45 consecutive days.  It should 
be noted that any time a person has spent in a correctional facility of any kind, or time a person 
was deemed to be on absconder status, tolls the seven year time frame.2

Lastly, the legislature has given permission for judges to order people convicted of DUI to refrain 
from consuming any alcohol for a period of 30 days.  Although this is a discretionary measure, if it 
is imposed, the person is subject to continuous alcohol testing or twice daily monitoring.3

Juvenile Laws

Juveniles who are convicted of criminal damage shall have a fine imposed between $300 and 
$1,000.  There had previously not been a statutory minimum for the fine.4

Monies may be collected for crime victims from juveniles if the juvenile is adjudicated delinquent.  
They do not have to be convicted of a crime as an adult to be ordered to pay restitution!!!5

Juvenile competency reports that are sealed, may be opened by the department of corrections if a 
juvenile is in the custody of, or being transferred to, the department of corrections.6

If the juvenile is a convicted sex offender and placed in a sex offender program, their placement 
must be with people of similar age, maturity and offenders.  If the person committed an act while 
under the age of 18, they can petition to have a review of if they should be required to register as a 
sex offender provided they are under the age of 22.7

If a juvenile is being prosecuted as an adult, they, or by the court’s own motion, can transfer the 
matter back to juvenile court (reverse transfer hearing).  The transfer to juvenile court will occur 
if the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that public safety and the rehabilitation of the 
juvenile would be best served by transferring the case to juvenile court.  The new statute lists ten 
criteria to be used when the court makes its determination.8

Sex Trafficking

There is now a distinction for recruiting, enticing, harboring or transporting a person for the 
purposes of prostitution.  If the person is over the age of 18, the recruiting has a mental element 
of knowingly.  If the person is under the age of 18, the recruiting is strict liability while the specific 
intent of causing the person to engage in prostitution remains.  Any sentence must be consecutive 
(notwithstanding other law).9

If a person is “engaged” in child prostitution (victim 15-17) and receives a term of probation, a 
minimum of 30 days jail must be imposed.10

If a person is receiving engaged in child prostitution as other than a “John” and the child is 15, 16, 
or 17 years of age, the mandatory, non-suspendable, prison sentencing range is as follows:  

					     Minimum		  Presumptive		  Maximum
First offense:				   7			   10.5			   21
One historical prior:		  14			   15.75			   28
Two or more historic priors:	 21			   28			   35 

Sexual Offense Sentencing

For a person convicted as an Adult of a Dangerous Crime against Children involving Luring a Minor 
for Sexual Exploitation now faces a mandatory presumptive sentence of 10 years (may be modified 
up or down depending on whether there have been prior convictions for predicate felonies) with no 
early release.  If previously convicted of a predicate felony the presumptive sentence is 15 years with 
no early release and no modification up or down.11
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Sex Offender Registration

Any person who is required to register as a sex offender must also include any online identifier and 
the name of any websites or internet communication service where the identifier is being used.  
Online identifiers must be disclosed even if it was not required at the time of initial registration.  
Online identifiers are electronic e-mail addresses, or instant message, chat or social networking 
or other similar internet communications.  Although not effective until January 1, 2008, current 
registrants are “encouraged” to submit online identifier information before this date.  Includes 
provision for updating registration records within 3 days of any modifications.12

Material Witness to Human Smuggling

A person who is a material witness to human 
smuggling can be detained by law enforcement 
if their immigration status may make them 
unavailable at trial.  This detention applies only 
to human smuggling.  On the motion of a party 
or the person detained, the material witness may 
be deposed.  Such deposition must be held within 
seven (7) days of the order granting the deposition.  
Essentially it permits the detention of a person who 
would be a witness to human smuggling with little 

recourse except to file their own motion to hold a deposition.  This would require the person being 
detained to know of their rights.13

Guilty except Insane

If a person is found guilty except insane, the court shall sentence the person to the department of 
corrections under the jurisdiction of the psychiatric security review board and committed to a state 
mental health facility under the department of health services.14

If the person is deemed no longer in need of ongoing treatment for a mental disease and is 
dangerous or has a propensity to re-offend, by the psychiatric security review board, the person 
shall be transferred to the department of corrections for the remainder of their sentence.  A judicial 
review can occur within 20 days of the psychiatric security review board’s order to determine: (1) 
whether the person no longer needs ongoing treatment; (2) whether the person is dangerous or has 
a propensity to re-offend.  The burden is on the person requesting the review to prove by clear and 
convincing evidence.

Prisoners

Additional requirements for people convicted for drug offenses to be eligible for early release (90 day) 
programs include being labeled as low risk to the community, not be convicted of a violent crime 
under ARS 13-604.04 and have good behavior while incarcerated as determined by the department 
of corrections.  Even though there is a system established for early release, the legislature specifies 
that no prisoner is guaranteed an early release.  Further, any person released with community 
supervision may be required to partake in drug counseling at their own expense.  Lastly, a new 
provision requires prisons to offer classes to teach inmates who are being released how to live in the 
community.15

If a prisoner is ordered to pay restitution, between twenty to fifty per cent of the prisoner’s 
spendable account shall be withdrawn to pay the restitution each month.  This is a non-
discretionary withdrawal.16

If a person is in the custody of the Department of Corrections and commits a felony offense, the 
sentence on the newly charged felony must be served consecutively to any pending undischarged 
sentence.17
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Fines/Assessments/DNA

Through December 31, 2011, all fines are subject to an assessment of seven per cent, not the 
current three per cent.  Beginning January 1, 2012, the assessment is reduced to six per cent.

Beginning January 1, 2008, a person arrested for the following crimes must submit for a DNA 
sample within five days of arrest:  indecent exposure; public sexual indecency; sexual abuse; sexual 
conduct with a minor; sexual assault; molestation of child; bestiality; continuous sexual abuse of 
a child; burglary in the second degree; burglary in the first degree; keeping or residing in a house 
of prostitution; prostitution; portraying adult as a minor; incest; and any dangerous and repetitive 
crimes under ARS 13-604. The arresting agency is required to transmit the sample to DPS.18

Expunging DNA samples and results can occur if any of the following occurs: (1) the charges are not 
filed within the time frame given in ARS 13-107; (2) the criminal charges are dismissed; or (3) the 
person is acquitted at trial.  The burden of pursuing expungement rests on the accused!!!19

Residential Mortgage Loan Fraud

A person who knowingly misstates, misrepresents or materially omits information relied upon by 
a residential mortgage loan provider can be charged with a Class 4 Felony.  If there is a pattern of 
misrepresentation, the person can be charged with a Class 2 Felony.20

Theft of Means of Transportation

If a person reports a theft of means of transportation, they must sign an affidavit attesting that fact 
and give the affidavit to law enforcement.  Failure to provide a signed affidavit within 30 days after 
the initial report, shall result in the vehicle being removed from national crime information center 
database.  Affiants will be made aware that filing a false affidavit will subject them to criminal 
prosecution.21

Aggravated Assault

Aggravated assault now includes any of the following situations:  (1) if the assault causes temporary 
but substantial disfigurement, temporary but substantial loss or impairment of any body organ or 
part or a fracture; (2) if the person is in violation of a valid order of protection; (3) the victim’s ability 
to resist is substantially impaired; (4) the victim is listed in a special category.22

Aggravated Domestic Violence

The time frame for committing acts of domestic violence which would constitute aggravated 
domestic violence is increased from sixty months to eighty-four months.23

Criminal Damage

New section to the statute adds damaging or tampering any utility, agricultural infrastructure, 
construction site or existing structure for obtaining nonferrous metals (copper, zinc, tin and 
aluminum).  Can be a Class 3, 4 or 5 Felony.  Also requires each scrap metal dealer to keep a 
picture and detailed records of all transactions over $25.  The purpose of the new provision is to 
stiffen the penalties for the stealing of copper and other metals.24

Shoplifting

The culpable state of mind is achieved if unpaid merchandise is concealed on the person or person 
of another or uses an artifice, instrument, container, device or other article to facilitate in the 
shoplifting.  This permits prosecution for using another person to aid in shoplifting.25

“Continuous criminal episode,” now includes a dollar amount of at least $1,500, three separate 
incidences (which can be at the same retail location), within 90 days, and with intent to resell the 
merchandise.26
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Concealed Weapons

Changes designation for failure to provide permit upon request by a law enforcement officer, from a 
Class 2 Misdemeanor to a petty offense.  This does NOT change the general treatment of unlawfully 
carrying of a concealed weapon, only the manner in which failure to produce an otherwise valid 
permit is dealt with.27

Public Utility Information

ARS 44-1376.01 is amended to include “communication service records” and “public utility 
records,” to telephone records which may not be fraudulently or deceptively procured.  Any such 
information that is obtained illegally is not admissible in court proceedings.28

Sale of Antifreeze

It is a Class 3 Misdemeanor for manufactures, packagers, distributors, recyclers or sellers of 
antifreeze to sell such antifreeze if it does not contain a bittering agent that makes the antifreeze 
unpalatable.  There previously was no such requirement for antifreeze to contain a bittering agent.29

Amusement Ride Records

Any person who knowingly discloses amusement ride records received by the municipality or county 
without written consent of the owner of the amusement ride is guilty of a Class 3 Misdemeanor.30

Writs of Restitution

A defendant’s social security number shall no longer be placed on the judgment.  If a person 
is served with a Writ of Restitution or is found guilty of forcible detainer and is on the property 
without permission of the owner, they can be charged with criminal trespass in the third degree, a 
Class 3 Misdemeanor.31

Non-DUI Driving Related Offenses

An individual may attend any supreme court certified defensive driving school, not just a primary 
driving school as had been the prior law.32

A person with a Class G license (permit) for the first six months cannot drive between midnight and 
5:00 a.m.  Furthermore, for the first six months a Class G license holder cannot drive with more 
than one passenger under the age of 18.  A peace officer may not stop a vehicle solely for this 
violation.33

A civil traffic proceeding must commence within 60 days of the alleged violation and must be served 
within 90 days of filing.  If the violation caused a traffic accident involving death, the action may be 
commenced up to one year from the date of incident.  The 90 day and one year windows are new 
time frames.34

ARS 28-672, which provides for additional penalties for injuries or death which occurs during a 
moving violation, now includes overtaking a stopped school bus on the road.  Previously, this was 
not a specified violation.35

Courts

ARS 21-101 is added with definitions for juror pool, jury commissioner, jury manager, jury panel, 
master jury file and master jury list.36

A jury commissioner may appoint a designee to perform the duties of jury commissioner.37
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Superior Court criminal case minute entries must become available electronically.  These records 
must be searchable by case name, number and name of the judge or commissioner.  In a county 
with a population of two million or more people, this must begin no later than December 31, 2007.  
If a county’s population is less than two million, this must begin by January 1, 2010.38

In a county with a population of more than two million people, justice of the peace shall have 
original jurisdiction to hear misdemeanors, except if the offense is filed in a municipal court or 
consolidated with a felony in the complaint, information or indictment.39

Law Enforcement

It is now a Class 1 Misdemeanor to impersonate a Department 
of Public Safety Officer, as well as a Highway Patrol member.40

During a interview with an employer, a law enforcement 
officer or probation officer has the right to be told in writing 
of the nature of the investigation, the officer’s status in the 
investigation and all known allegations of misconduct that 
are the subject of the interview.  This could be an important 
document to request when investigating the background of an 
officer.41

Prohibits any limitations placed on a peace officer’s carrying 
of a firearm.  Then provides a laundry list of when they can be 
prohibited!42

Law enforcement must now inform a crime victim, or their 
family if the victim is deceased or incapacitated, they have the 
right to receive one copy of the police report at no charge.43

New legislation clarifies that multi-county water conservation officers are not peace officers.44

Appellate Procedure

Repealed unused sections of victim’s rights in appellate procedures.

Child Protective Services

Law enforcement shall take whatever measures are necessary to protect the identity of the 
person reporting an incident to CPS before releasing records it receives during an investigation.  
Information that would compromise a CPS or law enforcement investigation does not have to be 
disclosed.45

Legislation simply numerates what a CPS worker shall inform a family that’s under investigation.  
Same wording as previous, except there is no longer a requirement that CPS take reasonable steps 
to get a signed statement that the family has been informed of their rights.46

Collateral Consequences

Permits schools that permit or require students to do clinical or hospital training as part of their 
schooling to obtain a fingerprint clearance card.  If the person cannot obtain a fingerprint card, 
pursuant to ARS 41-1758.03, that person can be excluded from continuing their education and/or 
have their clinical employment terminated.  The person who applies for the fingerprint clearance 
is contacted if clearance cannot be obtained.  This could be an issue for any client who may have 
aspirations of working in health care.47

Collection proceedings shall not be started against a person who has failed to pay on a civil penalty 
if all of the following apply:  (1) the final disposition was three years before collection proceedings 
are initiated; (2) the court has no record of notice being sent within three years that civil judgment 
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was due; (3) the court has not contacted MVD to suspend person’s license; (4) the court has not 
contacted the driver or MVD about request by court to suspend person’s license; and (5) the court 
does not have record of extending time payments or record of installment payments.48

A victim of domestic violence may terminate a residential lease early and without penalty if written 
notice is provided to the landlord within 30 days of the incident.  A tenant who is the victim of 
domestic violence may require a landlord to re-key or change all locks at the tenant’s expense.  This 
would permit people who have been charged with domestic violence to lose their residence.  This 
may now become a derivative consequence of being simply being charged with an act of domestic 
violence.49

(Endnotes)
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Mitigation Services
By Carol E. Johnson, Client Services Supervisor

In addition to working toward resolving cases through trials and motion practice, public defenders 
spend substantial time working toward negotiated pleas and seeking fair and just prison sentences. 
Each of these duties is equally important in providing the best defense for our clients. Something 
that can be helpful in working on any part of a criminal case is the discovery and the development 
of “mitigation”.

What is mitigation?

Mitigating circumstances is defined in Black’s Law Dictionary, 6th Edition, as follows:

Such as do not constitute a justification or excuse for the offense in 
question, but which, in fairness and mercy, may be considered as 
extenuating or reducing the degree of moral culpability.

Mitigating circumstances are those 
issues and conditions we disclose to help 
humanize our clients in the eyes of the 
prosecutor and/or the judge.  Our clients 
make mistakes and errors in judgment 
which bring them into the criminal justice 
system. Many public defender clients are 
capable of learning from these mistakes 
and can become productive members of 
the community.  Some may desire to turn 
their lives around, but lack the support 
and assistance they need to accomplish 
that goal.  Mitigation specialists can 
offer these clients and their attorneys 
assistance by developing family and 
social histories, gathering data on mental 
health and substance abuse concerns, 
and crafting sentencing plans that 
address issues and concerns that require 
intervention and treatment.

The fact is, all of us make mistakes at 
some point.  Most of us are given an 
opportunity to correct the “error of our 
ways”.  Identification of mitigating factors 
in probation-eligible cases can provide 
our client with an opportunity to learn 
from his or her mistakes and to chart a 
more positive and constructive course 
for the future. Identification of mitigation 
for a prison-bound client can persuade 
the prosecutor or judge and reduce the number of years that person is facing in the Arizona 
Department of Corrections.  If nothing more, mitigation can provide inmate classification officers 
information for making appropriate prison placements and serve as means for obtaining valuable 
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services for our client.  In capital cases, the presentation of mitigating factors can make the 
difference between life and death.

Process of Referring cases to Mitigation Services

Public Defender mitigation services are provided by Mitigation Specialists assigned throughout the 
Office. In all, we have nineteen staff members that develop mitigation.  Nine Mitigation Specialists 
are assigned to the Capital Unit.  Two are assigned to Juvenile.  The remaining eight Specialists 
serve our one-hundred ninety trial division attorneys.

Given our limited resources, attorneys must weigh many factors in analyzing potential referrals to 
a Mitigation Specialist. For example, consider the clients’ special circumstances, e.g., whether or 
not the client is struggling with physical, mental health, or substance abuse issues.  Perhaps he or 
she is the victim of an abusive relationship or is a juvenile charged as an adult.  At the same time, 
it is critical to consider the likelihood that the services provided will be considerably different than 
what you can develop independently or that the services will make a substantial difference in the 
outcome of the case.  If so, more likely than not, the case is one that will benefit from the services of 
a Mitigation Specialist.

Additionally, a Mitigation Specialist will need time to meet the client, conduct research, developing 
a plan of action, and formulate a written sentencing proposal. All of this requires at least 30 
business days.  Therefore, if you are requesting mitigation assistance, it may mean that you have to 
obtain a continuance to allow the mitigation specialist an opportunity to prepare.  It is always wise 
to consider the potential need for mitigation services far in advance to ensure that you can meet 
court-imposed deadlines. 

Once a decision is made to refer the case to a Mitigation Specialist, the attorney must complete a 
referral form.  To make a referral, obtain the Trial Division Mitigation Specialist Referral Form from 
the shared drive.  Open WORD and click:

File
New
Templates -- On my computer
Mitigation
Referral Form

Complete the form on-line and save a copy to your H:/ drive.  Send an e-mail with the referral form 
attached to the Mitigation Specialist handling all referrals.

Developing Mitigation on Your Own

Trial Division Mitigation Specialists must, because of our limited resources, allocate their time 
to cases where they can expect to have the greatest impact.  Much like when attorney caseloads 
exceed reasonable limits, mitigation specialists must turn away a sizeable number of cases each 
year just to keep pace while simultaneously maintaining the highest quality of service possible.  

Since they cannot provide services for every case that requires mitigation, development of mitigation 
often falls squarely in the attorney’s lap.   When you find yourself with a case for which no 
mitigation specialist is available, do not despair.  Mitigation Specialists can help even when they 
cannot take the case for completion of “full-blown workup”.  They can staff cases with you and 
offer referrals, suggestions on the best approach to take, and guidance on what is most persuasive. 
Because they have developed an expertise in creating effective treatment and sentencing plans, a 
fifteen-minute conversation with a mitigation specialist can set you off in directions that you had 
never thought to head and save you many frustrating hours.

•
•
•
•
•
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One of the first steps our Trial Division Mitigation Specialists recommend in developing mitigation 
for a client is to review the Initial Assessment document that is placed in the case file whenever 
an “adult” client is seen by a Public Defender Initial Services staff person (ISS).  That document 
provides information to help you identify “red flags” and to alert you to the types of physical health, 
mental health, or substance abuse issues that your client is facing in his or her life.  

Another step that they recommend is to gather additional information from your client using 
the Client Questionnaire.  This document was created to help you gather more extensive detail 
concerning family, social, medical, and mental health information for your client. A copy of the 
Client Questionnaire also is provided on the shared drive and can be accessed using the steps 
identified above.  This brief questionnaire is available in both English and Spanish, enabling you 
to better serve our diverse client population.  In addition, this form is available on the Mitigation 
Services link of our website.

In an article published in for The Defense (Volume 17, Issue 2, pp. 16-17), Mitigation Specialist 
Tammy Velting provided a brief checklist to help you formulate mitigating factors that contribute 
to your client’s current circumstances. Some of her suggestions include the following issues: 
mental health (does client have a psychiatric diagnosis); substance abuse (drug of choice); family 
and social history (were there instances of physical or emotional abuse, or other instances of 
childhood trauma?); and education (was client placed in special education classes?).  The Client 
Questionnaire can help you analyze your client’s personal circumstances so that you and your 
client better understand how he or she became involved in, or grew accustomed to a particular 
criminal activity or unlawful lifestyle and what can be done to effectively address the issues.

After gathering all this information, you may find that you possess sufficient information to 
develop mitigation without assistance.  If, however, you are still hesitant, staff the case with a 
Mitigation Specialist for additional guidance. Occasionally, you will discover something about your 
client during this fact-gathering process that convinces you that advanced mitigation services are 
required.  If so, resubmit your original Referral Form, with a copy of the Client Questionnaire for 
additional consideration. 

The overriding goal of our Mitigation Specialists is to provide quality mitigation services to Public 
Defender clients and, in so doing, our primary focus is on helping you, the attorney.  There are 
times, however, when our workload simply does not allow us to accept another case. The steps 
outlined above and the newly revised Client Questionnaire are intended to help you when our 
ability to do so is limited.   Additionally, for the Defense is an excellent and convenient resource to 
distribute up-to-date mitigation information for your convenience. The table provided at the end of 
this article offers a sample of recent, related articles that have been prepared for you by mitigation 
staff.

Mitigation staff are invested in a positive outcome for your clients. We welcome suggestions on how 
we can better serve them. If you have suggestions, please feel free to contact us directly.

Employment Available for Ex-Offenders Vol. 15, Issue 01, Pg. 07 
A Long-Time Partner in the Community: Friendly House Vol. 16, Issue 04, Pg. 11 
Co-Occurring, Dual Diagnoses – What is a Co-Occurring Disorder? Vol. 15, Issue 04, Pg. 04 
Childhood Trauma as a Foundation for Mitigation Vol. 15, Issue 01, Pg. 04 
A New and Improved Resource – Lodestar Day Reporting Center Vol. 16, Issue 04, Pg. 14 
Damaging Presentence Report, The Vol. 15, Issue 05, Pg. 04 
Initial Assessment Project, The Vol. 15, Issue 03, Pg. 06 
Navigating the Mental Health System Vol. 16, Issue 03, Pg. 01 

http://pubdsmain5/empres/Mitigation/ms.htm
http://pubdsmain5/empres/Mitigation/ms.htm
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Death Penalty 2007
Presented by Federal Public Defender Habeas Unit, Maricopa County Public 

Defender, Legal Defender and Legal Advocate

December 6 & 7, 2007

Death Penalty 101 
Pre-Conference 
December 6, 2007
Registration: 8:30-9:00am
Sessions: 9:00-11:30am

Death Penalty Conference 
December 6, 2007  
Registration: 12:00-1:00pm
Sessions: 1:00-5:00pm

Conference
December 7, 2007
Registration: 8:30-9:00am
Sessions: 9:00-4:30pm

REGISTRATION IS LIMITED!

Phoenix Convention Center

2nd Floor—Lecture Hall

100 N. 3rd. Street

Phoenix, AZ

This seminar is designed to 
meet the Arizona Supreme 
Court C.L.E. requirements for 
criminal defense attorneys 
engaged in death penalty 
litigation under Rule 6.8, AZ 
Revised Criminal Procedures.  
It will provide valuable 
information to any lawyer 
who anticipates involvement 
in the defense of homicide 
cases. 

Pay Parking Areas
Chase Garage
2nd St/Monroe St

Regency Garage
Washington/2nd St

Seminar Registration—Death Penalty 2007

Name:  ______________________________________________________

Address:  ____________________________________________________

City/State___________________________________________________

Zip code: ________________Phone#_____________________________

State Bar ID#: _________________________________

  Conference Fees—Please Check				 
No Fee     Federal/County Public & Legal Defenders
$75.00     Court Appointed/Contract Counsel; City 
Public Defenders
$ 150.00  Other/Private
$ 15.00    Late Fee (After November 29)  

  Pre-Conference Fees—Please Check
No Fee     Federal/County Public & Legal Defenders
$25.00    Court Appointed/Contract Counsel; City 
Public Defenders
$50.00     Other/Private

					               
		  TOTAL:___________    **No Refunds after 12/3/07





Please return completed form 
& payment by November 29, 
2007

To: 
Maricopa County Public Defender

Attn:  Celeste Cogley
Downtown Justice Center 

620 W. Jackson, Suite 4015
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Enclose a check payable to 
Maricopa County
(no cash or credit) 

Any Questions please 
contact Celeste Cogley at
602-506-7711 X37569 or  

cogleyc@mail.maricopa.gov 
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Editor's Note:  The following guide on the Interstate Compact was developed by Brian Sloan for our clients who wish to 
move out of state after dealing with their cases.  Simply provide them with this two-page guide to assist them in their efforts 
to relocate out of Arizona. We appreciate the assistance of Dori Ege, Deputy Compact Administrator with Adult Probation 
Services, for providing a Brown Bag presentation on this topic and assisting Mr. Sloan in the creation of this guide.

This form is also available on our website under the Legal Resources link:  INTERSTATE COMPACT FORM

INTERSTATE COMPACT – PROBATION SUPERVISION IN ANOTHER STATE – A.R.S. §31-467
INTERSTATECOMPACT.ORG / 602-452-3805; 602-372-2479 (A-K); 602-372-2408 (L-Z)

REQUIREMENTS FOR INTERSTATE COMPACT

Fee Application Fee - $300, which must be paid upon application (in full).  In 
exchange, the monthly probation fee in Arizona is waived.  The application fee 
may be waived, but is unlikely.  There will also be the monthly probation fees of 
the receiving state

States All states are involved, including D.C., U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico 

Time Process takes about  60 days (time for a transfer request, and a response from 
the receiving state)

Qualifications All Felonies with three months or more of probation

Misdemeanors – the Interstate Compact is available to misdemeanor offenders 
if their sentence includes one year or more of supervised probation, all other 
criteria for transfer have been met, and is at least one of the following:

An offense in which a person has incurred direct or threatened physical or 
psychological harm; or

An offense that involves the use or possession of a firearm; or

A second or subsequent misdemeanor offense of DUI; or

A sexual offense that requires the offender to register as a sex offender in 
the sending state

•

•

•

•

ELIGIBILITY:
•	 Receiving state shall accept supervision if:

o	 There is three months or more of supervision remaining; and
o	 There is a valid plan of supervision in other state; and
o	 The offender must intend to relocate to other state for more than 45 consecutive days 

in 12 month period
•	 Eligibility is in the discretion of the sending state (Arizona)
•	 Offenders subject to deferred sentences are eligible
•	 Offenders under pre-trial intervention programs, bail, or a similar program are not eligible

LIMITATIONS:
•	 Offenders who are relocated to the receiving state under this compact are not allowed to 

relocate to another state except as provided by the rules of Interstate Compact
•	 Supervision duration is determined by the sending state.  Supervision level is determined by 

the receiving state

Interstate Compact
By Brian Sloan, Defender Attorney

http://www.pubdef.maricopa.gov/intcomp.pdf
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MANDATORY ACCEPTANCE:
An offender must be accepted into Interstate Compact if:

•	 Substantial compliance – offender is in substantial compliance with the terms of supervision 
in the sending state:  sufficiently in-compliance with the terms and conditions of supervision 
so as not to result in the initiation of  revocation procedures by the sending state

AND
•	 Offender is a resident of the receiving state:

o	 Has continuously inhabited what would be the receiving state for at least one year 
prior to the commission of the offense for which the offender is under supervision; and

o	 That state is the person’s principle place of residence; and
o	 Has not, unless incarcerated, relocated to another state or states for a continuous 

period of six months or more with the intent to establish a new principle place of 
residence

OR
•	 Offender has family in the receiving state:

o	 Family in receiving state are willing to assist and have the ability to assist; and
o	 The offender can obtain employment or has visible means of support
o	 Resident family must:

•	 Be a parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, adult child, adult sibling, spouse, legal 
guardian, or step-parent; and

•	 Have resided in the receiving state for 180 days or longer as of the date of the 
transfer request; and

•	 Indicate a willingness and ability to assist the offender as specified in the plan of 
supervision 

DISCRETIONARY ACCEPTANCE:
The sending state may request transfer of supervision of an offender who does not meet the 
mandatory requirements (above) if:

•	 The sending state provides sufficient documentation to justify the requested transfer; and
•	 The receiving state shall have the discretion to accept or reject the transfer of the supervision 

in a manner consistent with the purpose of the compact; and
•	 Offender shall not travel until 

o	 The application has been completed and submitted
o	 Receiving state shall have the opportunity to investigate prior to offender’s arrival.  

Arrival in the receiving state prior to acceptance and investigation may lead to 
automatic rejection.

o	 Exceptions:
	 Sending state may grant travel permit to an offender living in receiving state at 

time of sentencing; or
	 Offender sentenced to a period of incarceration of six months or less and 

who were living in the receiving state at the time of sentencing will qualify for 
reporting instructions upon release to probation

	 If the formal investigation is denied, Arizona must order the offender to return.  
If the offender fails to return within 10 days, Arizona must issue a nation-wide 
warrant

Military Members or family of Military Members – first, the offender must meet the eligibility 
requirements, then:

•	 If the offender is a member of the military, and has been deployed by the military to another 
state, they shall be immediately eligible for transfer of supervision; or

•	 If the offender lives with a family member who has been deployed to another state, the 
offender shall be immediately eligible for transfer, provided that the offender will live with the 
military member in the receiving state
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Employment of family members in another state – first, the offender must meet the eligibility 
requirements, then, the offender must live with the family member in the receiving state.  When the 
family member is transferred to the other state by their full-time employer, the offender shall be 
immediately eligible for reporting instructions and transfer of supervision.

Transportation to receiving state – an offender will be given a 7-day travel permit to get to the 
receiving state after acceptance or receipt of approved reporting instructions from the receiving 
state.  Getting to the receiving state is the offender’s responsibility.

Victims – if any – will be notified of the offender’s desire to enter into the interstate compact, and 
will be allowed to give their input

Waiver of extradition – prior to the offender being transferred to the receiving state, they shall 
sign a waiver of extradition to be sent back to the sending state if they violate the terms of their 
probation

Violations of probation – a violation of probation may result in the sending state (Arizona) 
“retaking” the offender for possible probation revocation procedures, unless there are charges in the 
receiving state.

HOW TO START THE PROCESS:
The probation officer has the forms, and will fill out the application, which the offender must sign.  
If the offender is in prison, and has a probation term following the prison sentence, this application 
process can begin 120 days prior to release.  It takes $300 to start the process, in the form of a 
money order or cashier’s check, which can be paid by someone on the outside

NOTE:  An application for interstate compact cannot be entered into prior to sentencing, but the offender can begin to 
gather the paperwork for acceptance (showing that a family member is willing to assist the offender, or proving residency 
in the receiving state) prior to sentencing.
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Restoration of  Rights Project
By Chris Phillis, Attorney Manager

On a beautiful Saturday morning in March volunteers from the Maricopa County Public Defender’s 
Office waited patiently behind tables at the Pilgrims Rest Church for citizens interested in restoring 
their right to vote and set aside their convictions.  The Public Defenders Office in conjunction 
with the ACLU, Middle Ground, NAACP and others assisted citizens in completing paperwork to 
restore their civil rights.  Jerry Schreck, Vonda Wilkins and Lauren Guyton greeted members of the 
public and asked preliminary questions.  Tennie Martin and Joe Stazzone electronically accessed 
records and provided a sympathetic ear for those who did not qualify. Vincent Barraza and Jennifer 
Guenther assisted in the filling out of the application form.  Suzanne Sanchez provided forms and 
information on the setting aside of adjudications and the sealing of juvenile records.

Over the course of three hours, fifty-two citizens received assistance in restoring their rights and 
setting aside their convictions.  Many left the forum with an application ready to file.  Those who 
did not qualify received information on what issues they needed to resolve, mainly fines.  The 
compassion displayed was appreciated by the participants.

Citizens who were unable to attend the March forum had another opportunity to receive assistance 
as part of the Juneteenth celebration at South Mountain Community College on June 16, 2007.  
Once again the volunteers from the office donated a Saturday, this time in the evening, to assist 
citizens with paperwork.  David and Ellen Katz along with the assistance of their daughters Rachael 
and Rebecca assisted citizens by answering questions and filling out forms.  Joe Stazzone once 
again aided in accessing records electronically.  Fredrica Strumpf was available to help wherever 
she was needed.  

Another forum was held September 22, 2007 at the Maryvale Community Center.  Members 
of the office volunteered to aid citizens through the process.   For citizens who were unable to 
attend a forum, forms may be accessed on the web at http://www.clerkofcourt.maricopa.gov/
faxondemand/CATALOG.htm 

Citizens must file a copy of their discharge from probation or their absolute discharge from the 
Department of Corrections with their application.  Unfortunately, persons discharged from the 
Department of Corrections must wait two years before applying to restore their civil rights.

In our quest to provide the community with helpful resources, a Motion for Misdemeanor 
Designation was created.  Members of the public will be able to access the motion on our legal 
resource link.  Persons convicted of a class six open felony may apply to have the offense designated 
a misdemeanor upon successful completion of probation. A defendant is eligible for a misdemeanor 
designation if prior to admitting to or being found guilty of the class six open felony he had not been 
convicted of two felony offenses and the class six felony did not involve the intentional or knowing 
infliction of serious physical injury or involve the discharge, use or threatening exhibition of a 
deadly weapon or dangerous instrument.

Clients who are convicted of a class six open felony should be made aware of the misdemeanor 
designation motion.  When advising a juvenile client stresses the need to submit the request prior to 
the court losing jurisdiction on their on 18th birthday.  After all, a client with a misdemeanor record 
will find the work force a friendlier place than an ex-felon.  

http://www.clerkofcourt.maricopa.gov/faxondemand/CATALOG.htm
http://www.clerkofcourt.maricopa.gov/faxondemand/CATALOG.htm
http://www.pubdef.maricopa.gov/Misdemeanor%20designation%20mot.pdf
http://www.pubdef.maricopa.gov/Misdemeanor%20designation%20mot.pdf
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Jury and Bench Trial Results
July 2007

Public Defender's Office

Dates:
Start - Finish   

Attorney
 Investigator       

Paralegal

Judge          
                 

Prosecutor CR# and Charges(s) Result Bench 
or Jury 

Trial
Group 1

6/25 - 7/2 T. Baker
Schreck 

Brazinskas

Foster Oberpriller CR06-171211-001DT 
Unlawful Discharge of 
Firearm, F6D 
Endangerment, F6D 
Criminal Damage, F6 
Disorderly Conduct, F6D

Guilty Jury

7/5 - 7/16 Farrell Harrison Voyles CR06-177574-001DT 
2 cts. Agg. Assault, F3D 
Assault, M1

Not Guilty 2 cts. Agg. 
Assault; Hung on 
Misdemeanor Assault 
(11-1 Not Guilty)

Jury

7/16 - 7/17 Williams 
Curtis

Cunanan Hernacki CR06-152600-001DT 
Agg. Assault, F6

Not Guilty Jury

7/17 - 7/18 Barraza Garcia Oberpriller CR07-103825-001DT 
PODD, F4 
PODP, F6 
Driving While License Susp/
Rev/Cancelled, M1

Mistrial; Driving While 
License Susp/Rev/
Cancelled Dismissed 
before trial started. 

Jury

7/23 - 7/26 Barraza Garcia Oberpriller CR07-103825-001DT 
PODD, F4 
PODP, F6

Guilty on both counts. Jury

7/24 - 7/26 Friddle
Davis 

Ralston

Sanders Plicht CR06-159316-001DT 
Disorderly Conduct, F6D

Guilty - Non 
Dangerous

Jury

7/26 - 7/31 Woodson
Smith 

Ralston

Lynch Golomb CR06-149564-001DT 
Theft, F5

Not Guilty Jury

Dates:
Start - Finish   

Attorney
 Investigator       

Paralegal

Judge          
                 

Prosecutor CR# and Charges(s) Result Bench 
or Jury 

Trial
Group 2

7/11 - 7/19 Roskosz Akers Weinberg CR07-005469-001DT 
Armed Robbery, F2D 
Unlawful Flight, F5 
Agg. Assault, F3D 
2 cts. Endangerment, F6D

Not Guilty Armed 
Robbery and 
Endangerment 
counts 
Guilty Agg. Assault 
and Unlawful Flight

Jury

7/30 - 7/31
DeLaTorre/ 

Martens 
Souther

Brnovich Coates
CR07-108845-001 
Agg. Assault, F6 Not Guilty   Jury

7/30 Kozelka Ditsworth Scott
CR07-114217-001DT 
Resisting Arrest, F6 
Assault, M1

Directed Verdict on 
Assault 
Guilty Resisting 
Arrest

Bench
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Jury and Bench Trial Results
July 2007

Public Defender's Office

Dates:
Start - Finish   

Attorney
 Investigator       

Paralegal

Judge          
                 

Prosecutor CR# and Charges(s) Result Bench 
or Jury 

Trial
Group 3

7/16 - 7/17 Harrison 
Burgess 

Davis Golomb CR07-109464-001DT 
Agg. Assault, F5 
Resisting Arrest, F6

Not Guilty, Agg Asslt 
Guilty, Resist Arrest 
Tried in Absentia

Jury

7/24 - 7/25 Cooper 
Spizer 

Jaichner

Dunevant Brockel CR05-007960-001DT 
Theft, F3

Guilty Jury

Group 4
6/27 - 6/28 Gaziano / 

Ditsworth
French Beaver CR07-101350-001SE 

PODD, F2 
PODP, F6

Guilty Jury

6/28 - 7/5 Barnes Udall Krabbe CR06-132579-001SE 
PODD, F4 
PODP, F6

Guilty Jury

7/9 - 7/10 Gaziano  Abrams Flynn CR06-168516-001SE 
Theft of Credit Card, F5

Guilty Jury

Vehicular
7/2 - 7/5 Timmer Passamonte Rassas CR21006-163171 

2 cts. Agg. DUI, F4
Guilty Jury
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Jury and Bench Trial Results
July 2007

Legal Defender's Office

Dates:
Start - Finish   

Attorney
 Investigator       

Paralegal

Judge      
                

     

Prosecutor CR# and Charges(s) Result Bench 
or Jury 

Trial

7/9 -7/11 Wilhite Mroz Telles CR2006-145613-001 
PODD, F4

Guilty Jury

7/12 Wilhite Mahoney Beckstead CR2006-178802-001 
POM, F6

Guilty of M1 Bench

7/23 - 7/24 Vogel Gaines Hernacki CR07-100024-001 
POND, F4

Not Guilty Jury

7/23 - 7/26 Babbitt McMurdie Gilbert CR06-157100-002 
Armed Robbery, F2 Dang.
2 Cts: PODD, F4
POM, F6
Theft of Means of 
Transportation, F3

Guilty 
Armed Robbery; Theft of 
Means of Transportation 
Not Guilty: 
PODD; POM

Jury

7/31 Carlson Duncan Tasopulos CR07-108637-003 
Agg. Assault, F6 

Guilty of M1 Bench

Legal Advocate's Office

Dates:
Start - Finish   

Attorney
 Investigator       

Paralegal

Judge       
                 

   

CR# and Charges(s) Result Bench 
or Jury 

Trial
6/11 - 7/27 Kenyon

Mudryj
Holt JD-15550 Dependency Bench

7/20 Miller
Canecchia

Ishikawa JD-506685 Dependency Bench

6/11 - 7/17 Garcia
Susorney
Mullavey
Brauer
Prieto

Sinsabaugh
Stovall

Anderson CR05-107872-002-DT
1st Deg Murder-F1
Kidnap-F2-Dang
Armed Robbery-F2-Dang

Guilty of 1st Deg-F1; 
Kidnap-Dang-F2
Robbery (lesser-included)-F4

Jury

7/10 - 7/26 Centeno-Feqiere
Sinsabaugh

Hall CR06-106577-001-DT
2nd Deg. Murder-F2

Guilty of Lesser
Reckless Manslaughter

Jury

6/18 - 7/26 Gray
Sinsabaugh

O’Toole CR05-009384-001-DT
Child Abuse-F2, DCAC

Not Guilty Jury

6/19 - 7/6 Koestner Gordon CR06-177198-001-DT
Agg. Assault-F2, Dang. Crimes 
Against Children (3 counts)
Agg. Assault-F3 (2 counts)
Unlawful Flight-F5

Guilty of Lesser
5 Counts Assault-Class 1 Misd.
Guilty of Unlawful Flight-F5

Jury



Page 18 Page  19

for The Defense -- Volume 17, Issue 6 for The Defense -- Volume 17, Issue 6

for The Defense

Maricopa County
Public Defender's Office 
620 West Jackson, Ste. 4015
Phoenix, AZ 85003 
Tel: 602 506 7711  
Fax: 602 506 8377
pdinfo@mail.maricopa.gov

for The Defense is the monthly training newsletter published by the 
Maricopa County Public Defender's Office, James J. Haas, Public 

Defender.  for The Defense is published for the use of public defenders 
to convey information to enhance representation of our clients.  Any 

opinions expressed are those of the authors and not necessarily 
representative of the Maricopa County Public Defender's Office.  

Articles and training information are welcome and must be submitted 
to the editor by the 10th of each month. 

for The Defense
M C

P D

The Speaker…
Ira Mickenberg is a criminal defense lawyer, defender trainer, and consultant from 
Saratoga Springs, NY.  Ira has designed  and taught trial, appellate, post-conviction and 
capital training programs for public defender organizations throughout the nation.  He has 
also represented indigent defendants in the United States Supreme Court, the U.S. Courts 
of Appeal, and the highest courts of several states, and has done extensive felony work.  
From 1988-1994, Ira was founder  and Attorney-in-Charge of the Office of the Appellate 
Defender in New York City.  Ira has been certified as an expert witness in federal courts on 
subject of effective assistance of appellate counsel, and has taught criminal law, criminal 
procedure and appellate advocacy at American University School of Law,  New York Law 
School, the University of Dayton School of Law, and Williams College. 

8:15 am - 9:00 am	 Registration & 
				    Continental Breakfast
9:00 am - 12:00 PM    	Brady
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm    	Lunch on your own
1:30 pm - 4:30 pm	 Crawford

May Qualify for up to Six Hours CLE Credit

Presented by Maricopa County Public Defender

The Newest Developments in

 Brady & Crawford
with Ira Mickenberg

Friday, October 5, 2007

Wells Fargo Conference Center
100 W. Washington Street

Phoenix, AZ 85003

(Corner of 1st Street and Washington)

To register and make payment, please 
contact Celeste Cogley 602-506-7711, ext. 
37569 or by email cogleyc@mail.maricopa.
gov

IT'S NOT TOO LATE TO REGISTER
THERE ARE STILL SEATS AVAILABLE
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