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Editors' Note: The United States Supreme 
Court's recent decision in Blakely v. 
Washington, 124 S.Ct. 2531, 2004 
WL 1402697 (U.S. June 24, 2004), 
dramatically alters the manner in which 
many sentences will be handled in 
criminal cases.  The precise impact has 
yet to be determined.  The following 
articles reflect the current views of 
several practitioners.  Additional 
information including motions and 
analysis from other states are available 
on the Public Defender website under 
Legal Resources at http://www.pubdef.
maricopa.gov/

At the end of its last term, the United 
States Supreme Court revisited the 
Sixth Amendment jurisprudence it 
started in Apprendi v. New Jersey, 
530 U.S. 466 (2000).  Apprendi was 
the landmark case that held that a 
jury, not a judge, must find any facts 
used to increase a sentence above the 
statutory maximum.  It eventually 
led to the Court’s decision in Ring v. 
Arizona, 536 U.S. 584 (2002), that held 
Arizona’s capital-sentencing statute 
unconstitutional because judges 
were finding the aggravating factors 
that were necessary for a defendant 
to be death-eligible.  In Blakely v. 
Washington, 2004 WL 1402697 (June 
24, 2004), the Court took Apprendi’s 
rule to the next logical step.

Ralph Howard Blakely, Jr. pled 
guilty to kidnapping his wife.  Under 
the relevant Washington statutes, 
the facts admitted in the plea 
allowed a sentence within a range 
of 49 to 53 months, which the state 
recommended as a term of the 
plea agreement.  However, at the 
sentencing hearing, pursuant to 
Washington sentencing procedures, 
the trial judge found that Blakely had 
executed the crime with “deliberate 
cruelty” and imposed an exceptional 
sentence of 90 months.  Blakely 
appealed his sentence on the ground 
that Washington’s sentencing 
procedure violated Apprendi.  
Washington’s Court of Appeals 
affirmed the sentence and the 
Washington Supreme Court denied 
review.  The U.S. Supreme Court 
granted certiorari.

The state argued that Blakely’s 
sentence did not violate Apprendi 
because the statutory maximum 
sentence under Washington law 
for a class B felony was ten years.  
However, the Court rejected this 
reasoning.  Although Washington 
statutes state that no sentence for a 
class B felony will exceed ten years, 
Washington also employs a complex 
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system of sentencing guidelines that determine 
the “standard range” for a given offense.  The 
statutes state that the court must impose a 
sentence within this range unless the court finds 
compelling reasons to depart from the range.  
The statutes enumerate an illustrative list of 
aggravating and mitigating factors that the court 
may consider, but the judge was essentially 
free to take anything into account (similar to 
the discretion allowed Arizona judges under the 
catch-all provision of A.R.S. §13-702(C)(20)).  It 
was this portion of Washington’s sentencing 
procedure that the Court found objectionable.

The Court specifically pointed out that, absent 
the judicially-determined aggravating factors; 
the maximum sentence for Blakely’s offense 
was the standard range as determined by the 
statutory guidelines.  This, the Court said, was 
Blakely’s statutory maximum sentence for the 
purposes of Apprendi.  Citing precedent that 
apparently most of the rest of the country failed 
to notice, the Court explicitly stated that the 
maximum sentence a judge may impose is the 
maximum sentence allowed by statute based 
solely on the facts reflected in the jury verdict or 
admitted by the defendant.  This means that the 
statutory maximum exceptional (or aggravated) 
sentence is not the statutory maximum for 
Apprendi purposes.

The holding of Blakely essentially means that 
the Sixth Amendment disallows any judicial 
fact-finding used to increase a defendant’s 
sentence.  But wasn’t this the holding of 

Apprendi?  Yes and no.  Because of the phrase 
“statutory maximum sentence”, judges around 
the country (and here in Arizona) interpreted 
the holding of Apprendi to mean that a sentence 
could not be increased above the maximum 
aggravated sentence allowable by statute 
without submitting the facts used to increase 
the sentence to a jury.  This was a specious 
interpretation because, under most statutory 
schemes, a sentence can never exceed the 
maximum aggravated sentence.  This essentially 
rendered Apprendi a noteworthy piece of 
Supreme Court memorabilia, except in a few 
specific circumstances (such as capital cases 
due to Ring v. Arizona).

In Arizona, the above interpretation led to an 
interesting, perhaps inconsistent, application 
of Apprendi.  Prior to Blakely, Arizona courts 
recognized that Apprendi applied to some of 
the enhanced sentence ranges under Title 13, 
Chapter 6, but rejected the argument that the 
aggravating factors used to increase sentences 
pursuant to §13-702 needed to be submitted 
to a jury.  How did Blakely affect Arizona’s 
interpretation?

In order to answer this question, it must first 
be determined if Blakely applies to Arizona.  It 
goes without saying that there will be arguments 
presented that it does not. These arguments 
rely on distinguishing Washington’s sentencing 
procedures from Arizona’s.  If the holding in 
Blakely can be shown to be an idiosyncrasy 
unique to jurisdictions that use sentencing 
guidelines similar to Washington’s, then it would 
follow that it does not apply to jurisdictions 
that use alternative methods, like Arizona’s 
presumptive sentence method.

This article suggests that Blakely applies 
to all jurisdictions.  This seems to be the 
consensus across the state (at least among 
defense attorneys).  The holding in Blakely is 
not dependent on the fact that Washington 
employs sentencing guidelines.  The Court 
makes no reference to Washington’s sentencing 
procedure in its holding that, for the purposes 
of Apprendi, the statutory maximum sentence is 
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Apprendi, in addition to requiring that any fact 
that increases the penalty for a crime beyond the 
prescribed statutory maximum be submitted to 
a jury, “other than the fact of prior conviction,” 
also requires that the fact be “proved beyond a 
reasonable doubt.” Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 
U.S. 466, 490, 120 S.Ct. 2348, 2362-63 (2000).  
The majority in Apprendi explains in detail 
the historical constitutional importance of the 
applicability of the reasonable doubt burden of 
proof to both the question of guilt or innocence 
and the question of the length of sentence. 530 
U.S. at 477-490.  The majority’s adherence to 
the constitutional principle that the reasonable 
doubt standard applies not only to the issue of 
guilt or innocence, but also to the determination 
of aggravating factors that increase the penalty 
for a crime beyond the prescribed statutory 
maximum is unequivocally set forth in the 
following language: 

“[I]t is unconstitutional for a legislature to 
remove from the jury the assessment of 
facts that increase the prescribed range 
of penalties to which a criminal defendant 
is exposed.  It is equally clear that such 
facts must be established by proof beyond 
a reasonable doubt.” Id., at 490.

Arguably, if the legislature cannot legislate 
away the reasonable doubt standard, then 
prosecutors and courts cannot constitutionally 
require an accused to waive this fundamental 
constitutional right that has been zealously 
protected by the Court since In Re Winship, 397 
U.S. 358, 364, 90 S.Ct. 1068 (1970).

Even the question whether the existence of prior 
convictions should be submitted to a jury for 
determination beyond a reasonable doubt is now 
open for debate.  The Court noted in Apprendi, 
“it is arguable that Almendarez-Torres, [v. United 
States, 523 U.S. 224, 118 S.Ct. 1219 (1998)][no 

right to jury trial on issue of recidivism] was 
incorrectly decided.”  

The constitutional importance of the reasonable 
doubt burden of proof was reaffirmed by the 
Blakely majority, which held that a “[w]hen a 
defendant pleads guilty, the state is free to seek 
judicial sentence enhancements so long as the 
defendant either stipulates to the relevant facts 
or consents to judicial factfinding.” 124 S.Ct. 
at 2542.  The Court does not state that the 
defendant can waive the burden of proof.

A practice issue raised by Apprendi/Blakely 
occurs when the state seeks to withdraw from 
a plea that has been accepted by the trial court 
because the defendant refuses to waive the 
Apprendi/Blakely  rights.  Jackson v. Schneider, 
207 Ariz. 325, 86 P.3d 381 (App. 2004) and 
Campas v. Superior Court, 159 Ariz. 343, 
344, 767 P.2d 230 (Ariz. App. 1989) provides 
support for the argument that double jeopardy 
attached the moment the trial court accepted 
the plea, and the trial court may not reject the 
plea or permit the state to withdraw from the 
plea because it would violate the prohibition 
against double jeopardy.  Although the trial 
court can reject the agreed-upon sentence after 
the plea has been accepted, it can only sentence 
the defendant within the legal limits of the 
charges pled to, and then only if the defendant 
agrees, or, in the alternative, the defendant 
may withdraw from the plea. Arguably, post-
Apprendi/Blakely, the only legal sentence is the 
presumptive sentence or less in the absence of a 
prior jury finding of aggravating factors. 

Finally, it is well established that “[c]ourts have 
power to impose sentences only as authorized 
by statute and within the limits set down by the 
legislature.” State v. Harris, 133 Ariz. 30, 31, 

Blakely and Apprendi 
Burdens of Proof, Double Jeopardy, and Separation of Powers

By Paul Prato, Chief Trial Deputy

Blakely and Apprendi continued on p. 11



Page �

for The Defense

The Second Annual Arizona Public Defender 
Association Statewide Conference held June 23 - 
25 boasted some pretty impressive numbers: 93 
training sessions; 130 presenters; 800 attendees 
registered (and another 100 that had to be 
turned away); and billions and billions of Rice 
Krispy Treats and ice cream bars consumed.  

Once again it was great fun to have so many 
people dedicated to indigent representation in 
one place.  The attendees included attorneys and 
all types of support staff from every corner of the 
state, including county, city, federal and tribal 
public defense offices and programs.  This year 
we welcomed a new member, the Pascua Yaqui 
Tribe Public Defender Office, to the conference 
and our organization.

The conference showcased the incredible 
wealth of talent enjoyed by Arizona’s public 
defense offices and programs.  In addition, 
APDA was blessed with amazing cooperation 
from top-notch speakers from around the 
country, who traveled at their own expense to do 
presentations at the conference.  They included 
nationally-known trial attorney Steve Rench 
from Denver; renowned clinical psychologist 
Xavier Amador from New York City; Cynthia 
Works, Director of Training and Education for 
the National Legal Aid & Defender Association, 
from Washington D.C.; Maya Grosz, Supervising 
Attorney at the Neighborhood Defender Service 
of Harlem; Michael Pinard, Assistant Professor 
at the University Of Maryland School Of Law; 
McGregor Smyth, Supervising Attorney at The 
Bronx Defenders; and Gerry Spence, world-
famous attorney and author from Jackson, 
Wyoming.

 

Gerry Spence gave a rousing and inspiring 
speech at the awards luncheon.  He expressed 

admiration for public defenders as “attorneys 
who escaped those ungodly hell-holes (law 
schools) with [their] humanity intact.”   He 
exhorted public defenders to refuse to become 
“cogs” in the wheels of the criminal justice 
system, and to be “warriors”, even when it 
makes judges or (gulp) bosses angry.

At the awards luncheon, attorneys and staff 
from around the state were recognized for their 
accomplishments and dedication to indigent 
representation over the past year.  The recipients 
were:

Outstanding Rural Administrative Professional – 
Maria Flores, Cochise County Public Defender’s 
Office

Outstanding Urban Administrative Professional 
– Maria Poyner, Maricopa County Legal 
Defender’s Office

Outstanding Rural Paraprofessional – Pete 
Eggers, Investigator, Yavapai County Public 
Defender’s Office

Outstanding Urban Paraprofessional – Melissa 
Kupferberg, Capital Mitigation Specialist, 
Maricopa County Legal Defender’s Office

Outstanding Rural Performance/Contribution 
– Reynold Harrison, Tribal Court Advocate, 
Navajo Nation Public Defender’s Office

Outstanding Urban Performance/Contribution 
– Armand Casanova, Lead Investigator/Accident 
Reconstructionist, Maricopa County Public 
Defender’s Office

 

“Rising Star” Award – Steve Hauser, Mohave 
County Public Defender’s Office

Second APDA Conference Surpasses the First

By Jim Haas, Maricopa County Public Defender / APDA President
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Outstanding Rural Attorney – Brad Bransky, 
Coconino County Public Defender’s Office

Outstanding Urban Attorney – Ken Huls, 
Maricopa County Public Defender’s Office

Lifetime Achievement Award – Don Klein, Pima 
County Public Defender’s Office

Gideon Award – Tom Karas, former Federal 
Public Defender for Arizona

The Gideon Award was presented to Tom Karas’ 
daughter, Teresa, by current Arizona Federal 
Public Defender Fred Kay.  Tom was the first 
Federal Public Defender in the United States, 
and created the model office for the rest of the 
country.  Tom passed away earlier this year.  

The presentation of the Gideon Award by Fred 
Kay, who was hired by Tom Karas in 1971, was 
especially touching because Fred is retiring 
this year after over 30 years with the Federal 
Public Defender's Office.  Fred was recognized 
by his office at the luncheon for his humanity, 
humor and undying commitment to indigent 
representation.  He was also presented with a 
(somewhat kitschy) “Lady Justice” fringed lamp 
by the APDA Board of Directors.

Another touching moment occurred when the 
Pima County Public Defender’s Office recognized 
its director, Susan Kettlewell, who is also retiring 
this year after 25 years with the office.  Susan 
was presented with a plaque by her office.  She 
also received a “Lady Justice” lamp at the Board 
meeting earlier that day.  To illustrate how many 
lives and careers Susan had touched over the 
years, PCPD attorney Carol Wittels asked all 
those who had worked with Susan at the office 
to stand.  It seemed like more than half of the 
room was on its feet.  A memorable moment.

 

The awards presentation was punctuated several 
times by energetic standing ovations as the 
recipients’ accomplishments were described.  
The ceremony was ably and humorously 
emceed by La Paz County Public Defender Craig 

Williams, who had a successful career as an 
entertainer before becoming an attorney.  Craig 
was visibly upset with the APDA officers who 
would not let him use certain words that were 
readily uttered by Gerry Spence.

The APDA conference has become something 
of a phenomenon - the variety and quality of 
the training sessions; the energy of hundreds 
of people who share a passion for challenging 
work that only they really understand; the 
presence and recognition of support staff as 
essential members of our team; the long-overdue 
recognition of outstanding accomplishment and 
dedication; the tote bags, portfolios, t-shirts, 
and pens sporting OUR logo; the comfortable 
environment of the Tempe Mission Palms; 
and, yes, those wonderful snack stations - all 
combine to make the conference a unique 
experience that we hope to repeat and improve 
each year.  

 

Arizona Public Defender Association 
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Misdemeanor DUI Sentencing Chart
The following chart was created to assist those who have to go to misdemeanor court with all the 
questions defendants always have about DUIs.  It is a quick resource for those unfamiliar with the 
myriad of ramifications DUIs carry these days.  Of particular note is the new “prison fund” fine that 
was put into effect for arrests after March 13.  This fine will go to pay stipends of up to $100 per 
paycheck for prison guards, build new prisons and establish prison drug rehabilitation programs.  

Jail Mandatory Minimum Fine Driver License Action

1st DUI
.08-.14
(eff. 4/4/01)

Min – 10 days
9 days may be sus-
pended; at least 24 
consecutive hours.
Max – 6 months

$250 fine 
$200 surcharge  
$500 prison fund fine (eff. 
3/14/04) 
$20 time pymt. fee 
$5 probation fee 
 =$975

Unless already suspended for Admin 
per se,  MVD Suspension 30 days + 60 
days restricted (work/ school only) $75 
reinstatement fee SR22 insurance

1st DUI
Slightest De-
gree (no test)

Same. Same. Same.

2nd DUI within 
60 months of 
date of 1st DUI 
offense

Min – 90 days
30 days consecu-
tive, 60 may be sus-
pended. At least 48 
consecutive hours.
Max– 6 months

$500 fine
$400 surcharge
$1,250 prison fund fine
$20 time pymt. Fee
$5 probation fee  
=$2,175

Revocation 1 year. Notation on license 
after revocation that, for applicable 
period, every car driven by person to be 
equipped with Ignition Interlock.

2nd within 60 
mos. Slightest 
Degree

Same. Same. Same.

1st Extreme 
DUI 
>.15 
(eff. 4/4/01)

Min – 30 consecu-
tive days, 20 may 
be suspended.  At 
least 48 consecu-
tive hours. Max – 6 
months.

$250 fine
$200 surcharge
$250 DUI fund
$1,000 prison fund fine
$20 time pymt fee.
$5 probation fee  
= $1,725

Unless already suspended for Admin 
per se, MVD Suspension 30 days + 
60 restricted (work/ school only).  $75 
reinstatement fee SR22 insurance Nota-
tion on license after suspension that, 
for applicable period, every car driven 
equipped w/ Interlock.
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Feel free to contact Defender Law Clerk Kristina Matthews 
if you need specific citations to statutes or have any other 
questions or comments regarding this chart.

Other Terms Ignition Interlock Court’s Discretion

 
 
1st DUI
.08-.14
(eff. 4/4/01) 
 

Alcohol screening/ 
education mandatory. 
Prob. up to 5 years.

No. 

Community service, jail 
costs (up to $101/ day), 
work release or home arrest 
available after 1st 24 hours.

 
1st DUI
Slightest 
Degree (no 
test) 

Same. No. Same.

 
 
2nd DUI 
within 60 
months of 
date of 1st 
DUI offense 

Alcohol screening/ 
education mandatory. 
Prob. up to 5 years.

Yes – for at least 1 year 
after MVD revocation 
lifted. Installation and 
maintenance costs. 
Certificate of compli-
ance every 90 days.

Community service, jail 
costs (up to $101/ day), 
work release available after 
48 consecutive hours; home 
arrest available after 15 
days.

 
2nd within 
60 mos. 
Slightest 
Degree

Same. Same. Same.
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Practice Pointer

This month’s Juvenile in Adult Court Practice Pointer is A.R.S. §13-921, which deals with placing 
clients under 18 years of age on adult probation.  It allows the court to enter a judgment of guilt 
and place a client under age 18 on probation pursuant to this section if all of the following apply:

~ The client is under eighteen years of age at the time the offense is committed.

~ The client is convicted of a felony.

~ The client is not sentenced to prison. 

~ The client does not have a historical prior felony conviction as defined in  
  A.R.S. §13-604.

If the court places your client on probation pursuant to this section, all of the following apply:

~ It allows a client, if he or she successfully completes the terms and conditions of probation, 
to ask the court to set aside the judgment of guilt, dismiss the information or indictment, 
expunge the client's record and order the person to be released from all penalties and 
disabilities resulting from the conviction. 

~ It also satisfies all the concerns the state would have to having any conviction set aside or 
record expunged, as:

· The expungement is discretionary with the court, so they may object to it if and when it 
is requested.

· The conviction may still be used as a prior conviction even after it has been set aside in 
the event of any subsequent prosecution of the defendant.

· The conviction is deemed to be a conviction for the purposes of driver’s license 
revocations and suspensions.

· The client must still comply with any applicable sex offender registration laws.

· A client who is placed on probation pursuant to this section is deemed to be on adult 
probation. 

· It does not restrict the court in ordering jail time as a condition of probation.

~ It also allows the court to order a client to participate in services that are available to the 
juvenile court, so that if there were a particular program or service offered by the juvenile 
division, the court could order the client’s participation in that program.

Note that the statute does not exclude any particular offenses from the use of this statute, such 
as violent offenses or sex offenses (except for the requirement that there is no prison sentence 

By Elmer Parker, Defender Attorney

Adult Probation for Juvenile Offenders

Practice Pointer continued p. 11



Page  �

Volume 14, Issue 7/8

that allowed by the facts reflected in the verdict 
or admitted by the defendant.  Furthermore, 
for the purposes of Blakely, Arizona’s and 
Washington’s sentencing procedures are 
virtually indistinguishable.  In both states, 
crimes are categorized into classes and 
these classes determine the basic sentence 
for a given crime.  In both states, the basic 
sentence must be imposed unless other facts 
are found that allow for an adjustment to the 
sentence.  The only differences between the two 
systems are that Washington calls this basic 
sentence a “standard range,” while Arizona 
refers to it as the “presumptive sentence,” and 
Washington employs a more complex procedure 
for classifying a crime to determine its basic 
sentence.

It should be clear then that Blakely applies 
to any jurisdiction that uses some method of 
factual sentence enhancing such as Washington 
and Arizona.

Turning now to the original question of how 
Blakely affects Arizona’s application of Apprendi, 
Arizona’s interpretation has very likely been 
overruled.  Blakely clearly forbids the judicial 
fact-finding required by A.R.S. §13-702.  Unless 
the court finds aggravating factors, it must 
impose the presumptive sentence or less.  This 
means that the statutory maximum sentence 
is the presumptive sentence, because it is the 
maximum sentence that can be imposed based 
solely on the jury verdict (assuming of course 
that the verdict does not contain any aggravating 
factors or the defendant has not admitted to 
any).  Because of this, all of the 702 aggravators 
should now be submitted to the jury.

So, what does all this mean for day-to-day 
practice?  First of all, consider advising clients 
not to enter a blanket waiver of their Apprendi-
Blakely rights.  Prosecutors have already 
begun adding this as a standard rider on plea 
agreements.  Do not stipulate to this.  Either 
admit only to specific aggravators or add a 
disclaimer to the waiver specifying that it 
does not include any aggravators that may be 

potentially found under the catch-all provision 
of §702(B)(20).  There are two reasons for this.  
First, a blanket waiver exposes the client to 
anything under the sun that the judge decides 
to use to enhance the sentence.  Second, it 
may invalidate the plea.  It is questionable 
whether such a broad waiver could be knowing, 
voluntary, and intelligent, and this may taint the 
entire agreement. The choice, of course, to waive 
these rights belongs to the client.

Second, any aggravators that the prosecutor 
wishes to allege will probably have to be noticed 
at least twenty days prior to the trial.  This 
is similar to being provided adequate notice 
of the crime being charged.  It is likewise 
fundamentally necessary for a fair trial; for 
without notice, a proper defense to alleged 
aggravators cannot be prepared.

Third, although it is a near certainty that the 
legislature will amend Arizona’s sentencing 
statutes, a client’s Apprendi-Blakely rights must 
be protected prior to that.  This means that 
anytime a court begins to consider aggravating 
factors at the sentencing stage, an objection 
is in order.  An objection should also be made 
whenever the court attempts to impose a 
sentence above the presumptive without citing 
any aggravating factors.  Likewise, if mitigating 
factors have been successfully submitted to the 
court, and no aggravating factors have been 
found, object if the court does not reduce the 
sentence below the presumptive.

Fourth and last, carefully monitor pre-
sentencing reports to preclude reference to any 
aggravating factors.  If judges cannot find them, 
then neither should a probation officer.

As a practical matter, the following general 
guidelines should be considered when dealing 
with all post-Blakely sentencings:

1.  You should object to all sentences imposed 
beyond the presumptive, unless the client 
admitted to the aggravator which supports the 
sentence, or the fact was an essential element of 
the offense of conviction, or the client waived his 
right to a jury finding of aggravators (BEWARE 

Continued from Blakely v. Washington, p.2 
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OF WAIVERS SEE BELOW).

2.  You should object to a court’s attempted 
use of elements such as serious physical injury 
or use of weapon or dangerous instrument 
(702(c)(1) and (c)(2)) because the law already 
excludes them as aggravating factors since they 
are essential elements or 604 enhancers.

3.  Continue to argue mitigating circumstances, 
Blakely does not apply to mitigating 
circumstances and the judge can still find facts 
to reduce the sentence from the presumptive.

4.  Remember there is great language in the 
decision about not allowing judges to punish 
for behavior greater than that which supported 
the offense of the plea or conviction, like our 
judges do here all the time (ie: aggravating factor 
for pleading to a lesser included [oh yeah, we 
aggravate for the crime actually being completed, 
not for getting a reduced plea!]

5.  DO NOT advise a client to enter into 
a blanket waiver of a jury finding of ANY 
aggravator! (Of course, the ultimate decision 
about signing the waiver remains with your 
client.)

6.  If the prosecutor seeks a waiver of a jury 
finding, request the prosecutor list each and 
every aggravator to which he seeks a waiver, and 
only waive with respect to specifically detailed 
aggravators.  If you do a more blanket waiver, 
your judge could consider almost ANYTHING, 
even if neither you or the client (or the 
prosecutor for that matter) had thought of it!

7.  If you go to trial, you should not waive the 
jury findings on aggravation unless you have 
some clearly articulable strategic basis.

8.  If you go to trial, there is a very strong 
argument that the prosecution cannot seek 
aggravators which have not been previously 
identified in a charging document or noticed at 
least twenty days prior to trial.

9.  The right to waive the jury finding remains 

your client’s.  You must have permission to 
enter a waiver.  The waiver must be knowing, 
intelligent and voluntary, since it is a waiver 
of a constitutional right.  If your client decides 
to enter into a blanket waiver, despite your 
concerns, make a record regarding the over 
broad nature of the waiver.

10.  Since the court cannot consider aggravating 
factors in determining sentence, pre-sentence 
reports should not contain any reference to 
any aggravating factor.  You should object to 
any aggravating factor reference, and ask that 
it be stricken from the report as entered on 
the record.  This may avoid bad facts being 
before an appellate judge, who then reviews 
them and rules against your client because of 
them, although a different legal justification will 
inevitably be given.

11.  If you have a sentencing before new 
legislation is passed, and the court attempts to 
aggravate a sentence, on the aggravators, object 
based on Apprendi, Blakely, the 6th and 14th 
Amendments, the Arizona constitution, and 
separation of powers (no law currently provides 
for jurors finding aggravators in non-capital 
cases).

12.  If you present mitigation, but no aggravation 
is presented, and the court attempts to impose 
the presumptive sentence, have the court 
state on the record its basis for not imposing 
a mitigated term.  Object to any consideration 
of factors which move the sentence from a 
mitigated term to the presumptive.

13.  For cases that are pending sentencing, 
contact the pre-sentence report writer to make 
sure that the writer is familiar with Blakely and 
to put the writer on notice that the PSR should 
not include any inappropriate aggravating 
information.

14.  If the state tries to withdraw from the plea 
agreement, scrutinize the language in the plea 
agreement to see whether the state has a valid 
basis to withdraw and is not punishing your 
client for exercising the constitutional right to a 
jury determination of any aggravator.
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15.  DO NOT FORGET THAT THESE 
ARGUMENTS APPLY TO PROBATION 
REVOCATION SENTENCINGS AS WELL!

Blakely also has a bearing on clients who have 
been recently sentenced to an aggravated term 
based upon judicial fact-finding.  There is a 
very strong argument that these sentencings 
were illegal and need to be modified down to the 
presumptive.  If you are concerned about such 
a case, consider the appropriateness of filing 
a motion to modify the sentence pursuant to 
Rule 24.3, Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure, 
consult with your appellate attorneys, or feel 
free to call Jill Evans at the Law Offices of the 
Mohave County Public Defender at (928) 753-
0734.

imposed) and the statute anticipates that sex 
offender registration would continue after the 
expungement, so that indicates that even a sex 
offender should be placed on probation under 
this statute.

All of this also makes common sense because 
the legislature apparently recognized in enacting 

Continued from Practice Pointer, p.8 

it the difficulty of going through life with a felony 
conviction on one’s record, and anticipating the 
increased number of juveniles being placed on 
adult probation after the laws were amended 
making adult prosecution of juveniles more 
widespread, intended to allow an opportunity to 
expunge a first adult conviction.

Very few of the prosecutors and judges seem 
to be aware of this statute, so its something we 
should raise in every case where a juvenile is 
being placed on adult probation.

648 P.2d 145, 146 (App. 1982). See, also, State 
v. Reed, 120 Ariz. 58, 583 P.2d 1378 (App 1978) 
(legislature has responsibility of defining crimes 
and prescribing allowable penalties). Currently, 
there is no statutory authority for jurors making 
aggravating factor findings in non-capital cases. 
It is arguably beyond the scope of the courts’ 
authority to create a vehicle for doing so, absent 
statutory authority. Consequently, until such 
time as the legislature makes a “legislative fix”, 
a good faith argument can be made that courts 
cannot address the requirements of Blakely on 
their own. Simply stated, absent a waiver from 
a defendant, no aggravated sentences should be 
imposed against any defendants until such time 
as the legislature changes the criteria pertaining 
to ARS §13-702.

Continued from Blakely and Apprendi, p.3 
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For Intake and Inmate Classification
Donna H. Clement
Bureau Administrator: 542-3896
Herb Haley
Deputy Administrator: 542-3896
 
For Records
Cecelia Salas
Supervisor: 542-9166

For Time Computation
Cindy L. Aydlett
Administrator: 542-1880
Kathleen O’Hare
Manager, Time Computaion Unit: 542-1881
Nancy Sargent
Program Specialist: 542-1856

At a recent seminar provided by our appellate division, representatives from the Arizona Department 
of Corrections spoke about Intake and Time Computation. Here is some of the important info they 
shared and their phone numbers (they welcomed all to call with questions).

Processing
Once an MCSO inmate is sentenced (do your best to make sure all the info the judge includes correct credit 
calculations) DOC will pick up defendant within 10 days and if not they want to know about it. All adult 
males (except death) go to Alhambra (on ASH grounds) for processing, all women go to Perryville (in Good-
year), and all juveniles tried as adults go to Tucson. You need to call and notify them of very short timers (0 to 
60 days DOC time), and those who may need to go to Protective Custody.
            
Classification
Inmates are classified based on all info contained in PSR, including current conviction, previous convictions, 
and charged offenses with no disposition, but not arrests. This is all by Arizona Statute, according to DOC.
 
Sex Offenders - Classification for sex offenders is currently changing and now will include only those whose 
current conviction is for a Chapter 14 offense. Those in need of serious and intensive treatment will now go to 
Winchester Unit in Tucson, others will go to two separate yards in Florence.
DUI Offenders - Housed in DUI only facilities in cities of Phoenix, Florence, and Kingman. Includes inmates 
sentenced to 6 years or less (or if longer, when sentence reaches six years). 
Substance Abusers - DOC will take into consideration a judge’s recommendation for Marana, but defendant 
also has to meet several other criteria that DOC evaluates including requirement of one year of actual incar-
ceration time.
 
Time Computation
When you calculate your client’s actual DOC time you can start from the actual sentence date to figure the 
credit since DOC will also do this. First, subtract the presentence custody time, then subtract the earned 
release credit, approx. 85% (It is actually 1 day for every 6 days served, while Community Supervision is actu-
ally 1 day for every 7 days served). Almost everyone, except violent offenders (to be determined by DOC) is 
eligible for a 90 day early release, BUT whether it is actually given is to be determined by DOC. Nobody au-
tomatically gets this early Temporary Release (some get none, some get 20, 30 ,45 days). There is no way to 
determine at Sentencing whether your client will receive this.
 
If Community Supervision is waived, then inmate will NOT be eligible for TR (Temporary Release).
 
Inmates with INS holds have discretionary deportation once 50% of their sentence is served, even though it is 
discretionary it almost always occurs.
 
ADOC has a literacy requirement per ARS §31-229, if inmate cannot pass an 8th grade literacy test (after edu-
cation classes and assistance), then they will have to serve their ENTIRE sentence! The Education Department 
can choose to waive the requirement for individuals with mental or learning disabilities.

Intake and Time Computation



Page  13

Volume 14, Issue 7/8

Many writing problems — though described in various other ways — result primarily from 
disruptions in chronological order. In narrative presentations, of course, chronology is the essential 
organizer. The brain can more easily process the information when it’s presented in that order. 
So generally, the writer should try to work out the sequence of events and use sentences and 
paragraphs to let the story unfold.

Even at the sentence level, disruptions can occur. The following example comes from a handbook 
for band directors: “Improved intonation often results when students take up their instruments 
after singing their parts aloud once the director realizes that there are intonation problems.” This 
is in reverse chronological order. But the sentence can easily be recast: “A director who detects 
intonation problems should try having the students put their instruments down and sing their 
parts aloud. Often, when they play again, their intonation will be improved.”

Consider the more subtle problem presented by a legal issue phrased (as lawyers generally do 
it) in one sentence. To illustrate the problem, we’ll date the items as they appear in the original 
statement:

“Is an employee [hired in Oct. 1997] who makes a contract claim [in Sept. 1998] on the basis that 
her demotion and reduction in salary [in June 1998] violate her alleged employment contract 
[dated Sept. 1997], and who makes a timely demand [in Aug. 1998] under the Attorney’s Fees in 
Wage Actions Act, disqualified from pursuing attorney’s fees under this statute without the court’s 
addressing [in May 1999] the merits of her claim?”

The dates (which no one would ever actually want in the sentence) show that the sentence is 
hopelessly out of order. We improve the story line by highlighting the chronology — and we make 
the issue instantly more understandable:

“Lora Blanchard was hired by Kendall Co. as a senior analyst in October 1997. She worked in that 
position for eight months, but in June 1998 Kendall demoted her to the position of researcher. Two 
months later, she sued for breach of her employment contract and sought attorney’s fees. Is she 
entitled to those fees under the Attorney’s Fees in Wage Actions Act?”

Of course, part of the improved story line comes from the enhanced concreteness that results from 
naming the parties. But the main improvement is finding the story line.

Remember: chronology is the basis of all narrative.

Writers' Corner
Chronology

Editors' Note: Bryan A. Garner is a best selling legal author with more than a dozen titles to his credit, 
including A Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage, The Winning Brief, A Dictionary of Modern American 
Usage, and Legal Writing in Plain English.  The following is an excerpt from Garner's "Usage Tip of 
the Day" e-mail service and is reprinted with his permission.  You can sign up for Garner’s free Usage 
Tip of the Day and read archived tips at www.us.oup.com/us/apps/totd/usage. Garner’s Modern 
American Usage can be purchased at bookstores or by calling Oxford University Press at:800-451-
7556.
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Jury and Bench Trial Results
May 2004

Due to conversion problems, the Trial Results for this issue are not included in this electronic version.  If you 
would like to view the Trial Results for this issue of for The Defense, please contact the Public Defender Train-
ing Division.
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Resolution 121D Regarding Prison Conditions and Reentry 

On August 9, 2003, Supreme Court Justice Anthony M. Kennedy addressed the American Bar 
Association with questions about the fairness, wisdom and efficacy of criminal punishment 
throughout the United States. The inauguration of the ABA Justice Kennedy Commission soon 
followed, aiming to make recommendations for improving public knowledge of and confidence in 
the sentencing and correctional process, make punishment more effective in preventing crime 
and enable people convinced to crimes to reenter society at the completion of their sentences. The 
Justice Kennedy Commission recently published its recommendations. Of particular interest is its 
Resolution Regarding Prison Conditions and Prisoner Reentry which among other things: 

	 *addresses the need for programs and policies geared toward preparing incarcerated people 
for release and reentry into the community and encouraging community acceptance of those 
returning 

	 *urges jurisdictions to identify and remove unwarranted legal barriers to reentry 

	 *urges law schools to establish clinics to assist convicted persons with legal issues to their 
reentry into the community. 

Access the Resolution at: http://www.abanews.org/nosearch/kencomm/rep121d.pdf

For information about all recommendations: http://www.manningmedia.net/Clients/ABA/
ABA288/index.htm#

Latest Reentry News
ABA Justice Kennedy Commission Recommendations

Reprinted with the permission of The Brennan Center's 
Community Oriented Defender Network


