Off-highway vehicle decal price set at $25
Dec. 19, 2008
New state laws requiring purchase take effect Jan. 1
PHOENIX — A coalition of state agencies has agreed on a price for the new off-highway vehicle (OHV) decal that will be required in Arizona to operate most ATVs, dirt bikes, and other OHVs meeting certain criteria beginning in January.
The “OHV Decal” will cost $25 and will be issued annually through the Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). Revenues from the purchase of the decal will help better manage Arizona’s exploding OHV use and help protect natural resources.
“This is the most important legislation that I have sponsored,” said Rep. Jerry Weiers (R-Glendale). “This legislation will allow folks to better enjoy outdoor Arizona in a safe and responsible way.”
The OHV Decal is a part of new OHV laws taking effect Jan. 1, 2009. The laws will require the annual purchase of the decal for any OHV designed by the manufacturer primarily for travel over unimproved terrain and weighing 1,800 pounds or less. Beginning Jan. 1, owners whose OHVs are currently titled or registered in Arizona may purchase the decal online at www.servicearizona.com. After Jan. 1, title and registration services and decals will be available at MVD offices. The new laws also contain other provisions about titling, registration, equipment, and responsible operation.
Purchase of the decal is a “user-play, user-pay” fee that will allow the OHV to be legally operated in Arizona as well as in other states that have reciprocity agreements.
Revenue from purchases of the decal will be used in many ways to benefit Arizona OHV users. This will bolster the State Parks grant program that is used for damage mitigation, trail construction, habitat restoration and various other programs. Game and Fish will use funds to hire new law enforcement officers specifically for OHV enforcement. It is also creating new OHV education classes that can be taken by OHV users and may be court ordered for those found in violation of OHV laws. State Land will use a portion of the funds for law enforcement, habitat restoration and access across state trust lands.
Arizona Game and Fish Department, MVD, Arizona State Parks and Arizona State Land Department have worked cooperatively to determine a price that is reasonable for all users.
“It’s been a long time coming,” said Hank Rogers with the Apache County Rough Riders, an OHV group in eastern Arizona. “We’re very happy it’s been set at $25. We’re thrilled it’s here and look forward to putting the dollars to good use for the benefit of all Arizonans.
Enactment of the laws was the end product of a huge collaborative effort between OHV groups, conservation and sportsmen’s organizations, government agencies and elected officials, who all worked together to achieve this positive outcome for Arizona’s natural resources and outdoor recreation enthusiasts.
For more information about safe and responsible use, visit the Arizona Game and Fish Department at www.azgfd.gov/ohv.
For more information about where to ride in Arizona, visit Arizona State Parks at azstateparks.com/partnerships/ohv/OHVindex.htm.
For more information about usage of state land, visit the Arizona State Land Department at www.land.state.az.us/programs/natural/recreation_permit.htm.
For more information about title and registration of OHVs, visit the Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) at: www.azdot.gov. To purchase a decal for an OHV that has an Arizona title or registration, visit www.servicearizona.com.