
The information 
provided herein is very 
simplified and does not 
completely describe or 
explain all of the sexual 
offenses in Arizona law.  
Nothing in this pamphlet 

should be considered 
legal advice.  If you have 

legal questions, please 
contact an attorney. 

 

Sexual Offenses  
In  

Arizona 
Information for 

Parents and Teens 

Arizona law requires that a person having responsibility 

for caring or treating a child who has observed or 

examined a minor and has reason to believe the minor 

has been a victim of certain sexual offenses, such as sexual 

abuse, sexual conduct with a minor, molestation of a 

minor and others, must report the information to a peace 

officer or Child Protective Services.  Failure to report is 

currently a misdemeanor but may soon become a felony. 

How would anyone find out about 

children having sexual activity? 

 

Arizona Revised Statutes 
(A.R.S) 

Title 13, Chapter 14 
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Financial Responsibility of Parenting 

Recognize that if a pregnancy and child result from sexual 

intercourse, the parents have a legal responsibility to 

provide reasonable support for the care of the child, 

regardless of the age of the parent. 

Definitions 

“Felony” - offenses range from class 1 to class 6.  Class 1 
felonies include murder.  Class 6 felonies are the least 
serious.” 

“Misdemeanor” - offenses range from class 1 to class 3 and 
are offenses for which a prison sentence cannot be 
imposed (although a jail sentence can be imposed). 

“Dangerous crimes against children” - means any of the 
following that is committed against a minor who is under 
15 years of age: sexual abuse, sexual conduct with a 
minor, sexual assault, molestation of a child.  Conviction 
of a dangerous crime against a child imposes severe 
penalties and possible lengthy sentencing options. 



3. Sexual Abuse - (A.R.S. 13-1404) - engaging in sexual 

contact with a person age 15 or older without 

consent or engaging in contact only with the female 

breast if the person is less than 15 years of age.  This 

offense is categorized as a class 5 felony if the victim 

is under the age of 15 years, the offense becomes a 

class 3 felony, punishable under the sentencing 

criteria of “dangerous crimes against children.” 

4. Sexual Conduct with a Minor - (A.R.S. 13-1405)    

- engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact 

with any person under the age of 18 years.  Sexual 

conduct with a minor who is at least 15 years of age 

is a class 6 felony.  However, if the victim is under 

the age of 15 years, the offense becomes a class 2 

felony, punishable under the sentencing criteria of 

“dangerous crimes against children.” 

5. Sexual Assault - (A.R.S. 13-1406) - engaging in 

sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any 

person, regardless of age, without consent of such 

person is a class 2 felony.  However, sexual assault 

involving a victim under the age of 15 years is 

punishable under the sentencing criteria of 

“dangerous crimes against children.” 

6. Molestation of a Child - (A.R.S. 13-1410) - engaging 

or causing a person to engage in sexual contact, 

except sexual contact with the female breast, with a 

child under the age of 15 years.  (This does not 

have to be skin-to-skin contact.)  Molestation of a 

child is a class 2 felony, punishable under the 

sentencing criteria of “dangerous crimes against 

children.” 

Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.), Title 13, Criminal 

Code, Chapter 14, Sexual Offenses, defines six (6) 

primary sexual offenses.  They are: 

1. Indecent Exposure - (A.R.S. 13-402)                    

- exposure of private parts of the male or female - 

including the female breast - in the presence of 

another and not caring if the other person would 

be upset.  This includes acts of mooning or 

flashing.  Indecent exposure is a class 1 

misdemeanor unless the victim is a minor under 

the age of 15 years, in which event the offense is a 

class 6 felony. 

2. Public Sexual Indecency - (A.R.S. 13-1403)          

- engaging in any of the following without caring if 

another person would be upset: 

a. Touching private parts of another or causing 
someone else to do it 

b. Having sexual intercourse 
c. Having oral sexual contact 
 

Public sexual indecency is a class 1 misdemeanor.  

However, if the victim is a minor under the age of 

15 years, the offense becomes a class 5 felony. 

 

 

 

 

What is a sexual offense in Arizona? What are the punishments? 

There is a difference in the allowable punishment 

depending on the age of the victim. 

Conviction of any of the sexual offenses described in 
paragraphs 4 and 5, if the victim is under the age of 15 
years, is punishable under the “dangerous crimes against 
children” statute with the terms of sentence being more 
severe than those imposed when the victim is over the 
age of 15 years.  The differences in sentencing can be 
dramatic as in the case of sexual assault or sexual conduct 
with a minor, where, if the victim is 12, 13, or 14 years of 
age, the sentencing range is from 13 to 27 calendar 
years.  If the victim is under the age of 12, the sentence is 
life without release until at least 35 years have been 
served. 

These types of charges are not specific to adults who 
victimize children.  (Young people can also be accused of 
these crimes, and if convicted, they may face very serious 
consequences in the adult criminal system.)  These very 
lengthy sentences could be imposed on someone as 
young as age 14 because Arizona law allows for the 
prosecution of children as young as 14 years of age in the 
adult criminal court.  This is a decision made by the 
prosecutors who file the charges and decide whether the 
case should be heard in adult or juvenile court. 

Consent can provide a defense to the charge of sexual 
conduct with a minor but only if the victim is 15, 16, or 
17 years of age, the defendant is less than age 19 or 
attending high school, and is no more than 24 months 

older than the victim.  Again, children under the age 
of 15 cannot legally consent to any sexual activity. 

If convicted of a misdemeanor, the term of imprisonment 
is fixed by the court and is served in a facility other than 
within custody of the state department of corrections 
(i.e., county jail). 


