
REPAIR AND/OR RETROFIT AGREEMENT (Revised 2/22/2010) 

 
Voluntary Vehicle Repair & Retrofit Program 

1001 N. Central Ave., Suite 550, Phoenix, AZ 85004 
(602) 506-6016 

DATE: ___________________________________
      

REGISTERED/TITLED OWNER’S NAME/s:  _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

VEHICLE:  (YEAR) _______________________ (MAKE) _______________________________ (MODEL) ___________________________ 
 

LICENSE PLATE # ________________________ VIN # ___________________________________________________________________ 
 

I hereby release my vehicle, as described above, to this authorized repair facility for inspections, repairs and adjustments (if required) 
as part of the Maricopa County Voluntary Vehicle Repair and Retrofit (VVR&R) Program.  
 

I □ have □ have not previously entered the above mentioned vehicle into the VVR&R program.  If I am re-entering the above 
mentioned vehicle, I hereby certify at least 21 months have passed since I previously entered this vehicle into the VVR&R program. 
 

I agree to and understand each of the following conditions (please initial each condition below): 
 

1.  _____Participation in the program is limited to one vehicle per owner.  I certify that the vehicle identified above is the only vehicle I 
have entered into the VVR&R program. 
 

2. _____I am supplying required paperwork proving the vehicle is eligible for the VVR&R Program: an Arizona title in my name; valid 
proof of registration in Arizona during the immediately preceding twelve (12) months; and a required emissions failure notice dated 
within the last 60 days.  If this paperwork is not supplied or is incorrect, I may be required to pay the entire repair bill. 
 

3. _____I am responsible for the first $150 as a copayment of the repair/retrofit costs.  Vehicles that require more than $700 in repair 
costs or more than $800 in repair/retrofit costs are not eligible unless vehicle owner chooses to pay additional costs.  I will not be 
notified prior to any repair work if the total cost of repair work is less than $700 for repair or $800 for repair/retrofit.  If charges are 
estimated to exceed $700 for repair or $800 for repair/retrofit, I will be notified prior to the start of any repair work and provided the 
option to either pay the balance of the additional repair/retrofit costs or the option to remove my vehicle from the VVR&R program 
and pay a $50 diagnostic inspection fee. 
 

4. _____If my vehicle is able to have a retrofit kit installed (most 1975-1981 model year vehicles and some newer model year trucks), 
the VVR&R Program requires one be installed as per Arizona State Statute §49-474.03. 
 

5. _____My vehicle will be needed for approximately one day to complete necessary repairs and testing at a Gordon Darby emission 
station.  Any emission test fees are my responsibility.  I am aware that a Maricopa County vehicle processing fee will appear on my 
invoice; the charge will be $25 if my vehicle is retrofitted or $50 if my vehicle is repaired but no retrofit kit is installed. 
 

6. _____I will notify repair facility if I am experiencing problems with my vehicle’s starting or driving ability and I will bring my vehicle to 
repair facility for inspection and adjustment when requested. 
 

7. _____Repair facility will not be responsible for any repairs or damage unrelated to the emission control system specifically including, 
but not limited to, the following:  brakes, tires, wheel bearing, suspension and steering; heating/air conditioning system; cooling 
system, including radiator, thermostat, water pump, hoses and belts; transmission, clutch, drive shaft and differential; electrical 
system, including starter, alternator, voltage regulator, fuses, light bulbs, turn signals, radio, etc. 
 

8. _____Repair facility is not responsible for the loss of any items or personal property left in the vehicle.  All personal items (garage 
door opener, flashlight, CDs, money, clothing, etc.) are to be removed from the car prior to releasing the vehicle to repair facility. 
 

9. _____These repairs are intended for the long-term.  However, due to general aging and potential lack of maintenance, the VVR&R 
Program will not be liable for emissions failures when the vehicle is next required to be tested. 
 

10. _____My vehicle is not one of the following vehicles, which are not eligible for assistance:  vehicles not required to take an 
emissions test; vehicles unregistered more than sixty (60) days; vehicles that failed the emissions test only in the “Equipment/Pressure 
Inspection Results”; vehicles in which the emissions control system has been tampered with, removed or disabled; motor homes, 
motorcycles, vehicles with salvaged/restored titles or fleet vehicles. 
 

11. _____A vehicle may not be eligible for assistance if the vehicle is determined to be in poor and/or unsafe condition. 
 

12. _____I hereby authorize the above repair work to be done along with the necessary parts and materials and hereby grant you 
and/or your employees’ permission to operate the vehicle herein described on streets, highways or elsewhere for the purpose of 
testing and/or inspection. An express mechanic’s lien is hereby acknowledged on above identified vehicle to secure the amount of 
repairs thereto. Warranty on parts/labor is twelve months or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first. Warranty work has to be performed 
at this location and cannot exceed the original cost of repair. Warranty does not cover towing charges, car rental and/or lost wages. 
 

BY VEHICLE OWNER: __________________________________________________________ Date ____________________________ 
 
 

BY REPAIR FACILITY:  __________________________________________________________ Date ____________________________ 



REPAIR AND/OR RETROFIT AGREEMENT (Revised 2/22/2010) 

  

 
 

Voluntary Vehicle Repair & Retrofit Program 
1001 N. Central Ave., Suite 550, Phoenix, AZ 85004 

                   (602) 506-6016                                                FECHA: ______________________ 
 
 NOMBRE DEL PROPIETARIO DE REGISTRO/TÍTULO: ____________________________________________________________________ 
 

VEHÍCULO: (AÑO)____________(MARCA)__________________________(MODELO)_____________________________________________ 
 

NÚMERO DE PLACAS________________________VIN#_____________________________________________________________________ 
 

Por la presente, otorgo mi permiso para que mi vehículo, como descrito arriba, sea llevado a esta agencia autorizada para inspeccionar autos, efectuar 
reparaciones y ajustes (de ser  necesarios) como parte del programa del Condado Maricopa para Reparación y Acondicionamiento de Vehículos (VVR&R). 
 

Yo he □     Yo no he □  registrado previamente el vehículo arriba mencionado en el programa VVR&R.  Si estoy registrando de nuevo el vehículo arriba 
mencionado, certifico que ya han pasado por lo menos 21 meses desde que dicho vehículo fue registrado en el programa VVR&R.  
 

Acepto y comprendo cada una de las condiciones siguientes (favor de escribir sus iniciales en cada condición mencionada a continuación): 
 

1. _____La participación en el programa es limitada a un vehículo por propietario.  Certifico que el vehículo anteriormente identificado es el único 
vehículo que he registrado en el programa VVR&R. 
 

2. _____Estoy suministrando toda la documentación requerida demostrando que el vehículo califica para participar en el programa voluntario del 
Condado Maricopa para reparación y acondicionamiento de vehiculos: Un título a mi nombre emitido por el Estado de Arizona; una tarjeta válida de 
registro en Arizona durante los últimos 12 (doce) meses; y una notificación de que el vehículo no pasó la prueba de emisiones dentro de los últimos 60 
días. Si ésta documentacion no es suministrada, o si es incorrecta, se me podría requerir que pague la cuenta total. 

 

3. _____ Soy responsable de los primeros $150 como un co-pago de los costos de reparación/mejora. Los vehículos que requieren más de $700 en 
costos de reparación o más de $800 en costos de reparación/mejoras no son elegibles a menos que el propietario del vehículo escoja pagar costos 
adicionales. Antes de iniciarse cualquier arreglo, yo no seré notificado si el costo de la reparación es menos de $700 para la reparación ó de $800 para 
la reparación/mejora. Si las cargas son estimadas para exceder $700 para la reparación o más de $800 para la reparación/mejora, yo seré notificado 
antes del comienzo de cualquier arreglo y proporcionado la opción de pagar el resto de los costos adicionales de reparación/mejora o se me dará la 
opción de quitar mi vehículo del programa VVR&R y pagar $50 como honorarios por el diagnóstico de inspección.   

 

4. _____De ser posible instalar un sistema de piezas para acondicionamiento (retrofit kit) en mi auto (en la mayoría de los vehículos modelos 1975-1981 
y en algunos modelos más nuevos de camionetas se puede instalar), el programa voluntario  del Condado Maricopa para reparación y 
acondicionamiento de vehículos, VVR&R, requiere que el sistema sea instalado de acuerdo con el Estatuto del Estado de Arizona §49-474.03. 

 

5. _____Se necesitará aproximadamente un día para completar la instalación y pruebas de mi vehículo en una estación de emisiones Gordon Darby. 
Cualquier costo de pruebas de emisiones quedará bajo mi responsabilidad. Entiendo que el costo para procesar el vehículo aparecerá en mi factura; 
dicho costo será de $25 si el vehículo es acondicionado, o de $50 si el vehículo es reparado pero no se le instala un sistema para acondicionamiento. 

 

6. _____Yo notificaré a la agencia de reparaciones cuando tenga problemas con el arranque de mi vehículo o con su conducción y llevaré mi vehículo a la 
agencia de reparación para inspecciones y ajustes cuando se requiera. 

 

7. _____ La agencia de reparaciones no será responsable de reparaciones o de daños que no estén relacionados con el sistema de control de emisiones, 
incluyendo específicamente pero sin estar limitado a: frenos, llantas, baleros de las ruedas, suspensión, dirección, sistema de calefacción / aire 
acondicionado; sistema de enfriamiento, incluyendo radiador, termostato, bomba de agua, bandas y mangueras; transmisión, clutch, flecha motriz, 
diferencial; sistema eléctrico, incluyendo el motor de arranque, alternador, regulador de voltaje, fusibles, focos, señales direccionales, radio, etc. 

 

8. _____ La agencia de reparaciones no es responsable por la pérdida de cualquier objeto o propiedad personal del dueño del auto que sean dejados en 
el vehículo al entregarlo para las pruebas.  Todos los objetos personales (i.e. abridor de puerta de cochera, linternas, CD's, dinero, sistemas de 
emergencia, ropa y otros artículos) deberán sacarse del vehículo antes de entregarlo a la agencia de reparaciones. 

 

9. _____Las reparaciones deben durar por mucho tiempo, sin embargo, debido a los años que tenga el vehículo y a la falta de un mantenimiento 
adecuado, el programa voluntario del Condado Maricopa para Reparación y Acondicionamiento de Vehículos no se hace responsable de que el 
vehículo no pase la prueba de emisiones la próxima vez que tenga que ser probado.  

 

10. _____Mi vehículo no está entre los siguientes que no califican para este tipo de asistencia: Vehículos que no necesitan pasar  la prueba de emisiones,  
vehículos que no han estado registrados por más de 60 días, vehículos que no han pasado la prueba de emisiones únicamente en los “resultados de 
equipo o de presión” (equipment/pressure results); vehículos en los cuales el sistema de control de emisiones ha sido alterado, eliminado o 
incapacitado; casas móviles, motocicletas, vehículos con título salvado/recuperado (salvage) o vehículos de flota. 

 

11. _____Un vehículo no podrá calificar para la ayuda si se determina que el vehículo está en mala o peligrosa condición.   
 

12. _____Por medio de la presente, doy mi autorización para que se realicen los arreglos aquí mencionados, con las piezas y materiales necesarios.  Por la 
presente otorgo también el permiso a usted o a su empleado para operar el vehículo descrito, ya sea en las calles, las carreteras o en cualquier otra 
parte con el propósito de realizar pruebas o para inspección. Se reconoce que un gravamen o retención de propiedad ha sido establecido con relación 
al auto o camión para  asegurar la cantidad de costos de reparaciones del mismo. La garantía de las piezas y trabajo es de doce meses ó 12,000 millas 
(lo que ocurra primero). El trabajo de la garantía tiene que ser realizado en esta ubicación y no puede exceder el costo original de reparación. La 
garantía no cubre los cargos por remolque, renta de autos y/o pagos salariales perdidos. 

 
 

Firma por Dueño del Vehículo _______________________________________________________________________ Fecha___________________ 
 
Firma por Agencia de Reparación ____________________________________________________________________ Fecha___________________ 


	DATE: ___________________________________
	REGISTERED/TITLED OWNER’S NAME/s:  _____________________________________________________________________________

