What is a truant (truancy)?
Chapter 8, Article 1, Section 15-803 of the Arizona Revised Statutes defines truancy as:
- "Habitually truant" means a truant child who is truant for at least five school days within a school year.
- "Truant" means an unexcused absence for at least one class period during the day.
- "Truant child" means a child who is between six and sixteen years of age and who is not in attendance at a public or private school during the hours that school is in session, unless excused as provided by this section
How can I get a library card?
Phoenix Library System
A free Phoenix Public library card is available to all Maricopa County residents with proof of identification. You can apply for a Phoenix Public Library Card one of two ways. You can preregister online for a library card and stop by to pick it up with proof of identification or you can apply in person. Parents must sign the application for children under the age of 18.
To serve you better, all library cards have an expiration date. When your card is renewed, library staff will verify your information.
Your card allows you to borrow books and materials from any library in the Phoenix system. Because you are responsible for any item that anyone checks out on your card, be sure to let the library know immediately if your card is lost or stolen. (Card replacement is $2.)
For additional information and to register online, please visit Phoenix Public Library.
Maricopa County Library District
Maricopa County Library District serves residents of Maricopa County, Arizona. The Library District serves unincorporated areas plus it partners with cities, towns and school districts to run their libraries.
Photo ID and proof of current local address are needed to get a library card. There is no charge for Maricopa County residents to get a card. Noncounty residents can get a card for $50 annually, or $5 per month for a computer-use-only card.
County residents can register for a card online. This will provide access to their electronic resources through their website. Cards can be picked up at your local branch. Remember to bring a photo ID and proof of address.
Visit Maricopa County Library District to register for a library card online.
What information is needed to transfer to another school?
- Withdraw slip
- Immunization records
- Birth Certificate
- Discipline record (in some cases, this is requested)
What is an ECAP?
An ECAP (Education and Career Action Plan) reflects a student's current plan of coursework, career aspirations, and extended learning opportunities in order to develop the student’s individual academic and career goals. On February 25, 2008 the Arizona State Board of Education approved Education and Career Action Plans for all Arizona students grades 9-12 (R7-2-302.05).
My community school won’t accept me back. What can I do now?
- Speak with the Administrator at the school (principal, assistant principal) and inquire why you are not allowed to return?
- If the reason is because you have been expelled, an expulsion can only be a result of a hearing before the school board.
- Ask the school guidance counselor for a list of open-enrollment credit recovery schools that you can attend until you are permitted to return.
- Contact the given schools and inquire about their enrollment and academic requirements.
- Ensure the school is accredited and/or any credits that are earned are transferable.
What school district do I live in?
The easiest way to find the name of the school district(s) you reside in is to visit the Maricopa County Recorder's website. Once there, check the School Districts box under the Map Layers list on the far left side of the page. Click Tools in the upper right hand corner, then choose Find an Address (House Icon) once the toolbar appears. A box will appear in the lower right hand corner; input the address you're interested in and click the Search button. The address will appear on the map indicating your local school district as well as in the address input box.